University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home> Guides to Resources > Agriculture

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Agriculture & natural resources

A guide to print and electronic information

Agriculture gateways Conferences and proceedings Scientific software Plant Pathology
Current awareness Culture collections Patents and standards Soil & Land Systems
Databases Dissertations & theses Animal Science Viticulture & Oenology
EndNote General directories Entomology Weed Science
Journals Organisations & government departments Food science & technology  Wine marketing
Library tutorial for agriculture Universities & research institutions  Horticulture  

See also guides for General Science, Environmental Biology, Physiology, Molecular Biosciences, Chemistry, Geographical & Environmental Studies and Commerce

Agriculture gateways

Gateways are good places to start when browsing agricultural Internet resources:

AgLinks The Australian agriculture directory

AgNic Agricultural Information Network Centre - a distributed network providing access to agriculture-related information. Includes an alphabetical list of sites, searchable by keyword.

Agriculture Gateway The Agriculture Gateway is a one-stop-shop for all Australian government information on rural industries, either commonwealth, state or local information. Browsable subject areas include natural resource management, commodities & products and agribusiness.

Agrifor AgriFor is a gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources in agriculture, food and forestry, aimed at students, researchers, academics and practitioners in agriculture, food or forestry. One of the gateways within the BIOME service.

AgriWeb Canada
Directory of Canadian agricultural and agri-food resources on the Internet. A mixture of academic and popular sites are included. Searchable by broad subject areas.

AGROS Agricultural Research Data Directory is a collection of data descriptions of USDA environmental research, including soil, crop and plant, forest, rangeland, animal sciences, and other natural resource research areas, as well as economics, population, and food safety.

Australian Government Agriculture Portal A one-stop-shop for Australian commonwealth, state or local government information on agricultural, fisheries, processed food and forestry industries. It provides an entry point to government agriculture websites or "portals", both domestic and international.

Biological, agricultural & medical INFOMINE Comprehensive listing of Internet resources searchable by subject.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (Cornell University). Core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance.

Cyberstacks (Agriculture) Extensive list of agricultural sources on the Internet. U.S. bias.

Environment Portal The Commonwealth Government's portal to online environment resources, services and information.

Farmonline Internet home page of Rural Press Limited's agricultural weekly newspapers, including the Stock Journal. Features daily updated market reports, news and advisory material, weather reports, selected articles, links to other Internet sources.

Farmwide Online
National Farmers' Federation site providing information on news and weather, commodity prices and markets, industry and government bodies and so on.

Guide to resources in biology Extensive alphabetical list of agriculture and biological sources.

Kondinin Insite Searchable database to Kondinin's own information database. Charges apply for full text articles.

Landlinks Database of current research, books and articles on sustainable agriculture, the environment and natural resource management. Includes a catalogue of practical information on commercial and hobby farming, sustainable systems and the urban environment.

SciTechResources.gov
An annotated directory of nearly 700 science and technology resources on U.S. government sites. Browsable by agency and searchable by subject, agency, and resource type (including bibliographic databases, computer software, current research, laboratories, maps, photographs, research and development, publications, and satellite data). From the U.S. Department of Commerce, National Technical and Information Service (NTIS).

Wageningen Portals Wageningen Agricultural University Library. Provides links to selected Internet resources - particularly land, soil and water, links to an extensive range of electronic journals and information on agricultural research and education in the Netherlands.

World Agricultural Information Center
FAO's library of information on agriculture, fisheries, forestry, economics, nutrition and rural development. Includes statistical information and textual information.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Agriculture A database driven web site with searchable index to Web pages around the world.

YAHOO Science: Agriculture Searchable agriculture links. Extensive.


Agricultural & natural resources databases

A  B  C  D E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

AANRO:Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online Database
Incorporates Australian Bibliography of Agriculture (ABOA), Australian Rural Research in Progress (ARRIP) and Streamline.
A knowledge base of bibliographic and research information designed as a national decision support system and single access point for knowledge on Australian agriculture and natural resource management (ANR).
The AANRO knowledge base contains about 200,000 detailed descriptions of research projects and publications on Australian agriculture and natural resources.
Access: Freely available to all

Aesis
A database covering Australian earth sciences, mining, minerals and petroleum. Indexes published and unpublished theses and reports, journal articles, books, conference proceedings, maps.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to registered staff and students of the University of Adelaide, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1975-2001

Agricola
Includes over 3 million article citations to material acquired by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Subjects include all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Access: Freely available to all
Time span: 1970+
Updated: Daily

Agriculture & Natural Resources
Includes Australian agriculture, horticulture, fisheries, food production and technology and science, natural resources, animal husbandry and health, and related topics.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Databases included are:
ANR Index 2000+
ANR Index Archive 1975-2000
ANR Research (Formerly ARRIP - Current and recently completed research)
ANR Research Archive (Formerly CARRP - Completed research projects) 1984+
Updated: Bi-monthly

AGRIS International information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. An FAO database with access to a large collection of world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature which is not available through normal publication and distribution channels.
Access: freely available to all

AgStats
ABS agriculture commodity production statistics from the agricultural censuses and surveys.
Access: Available for use only at Waite (1983-) or Roseworthy (1996/7-) libraries.

AHB: Australian heritage bibliography
Formerly HERA, this bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Source documents include journal articles, unpublished reports, books, videos and conference proceedings from many different sources around Australia. Emphasis is placed on reports written or commissioned by government and non-government heritage agencies throughout the country.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1987+

ANR-Index
An Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan. A bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network
Time span: 2000+
Updated: bi-monthly

ANR-Index Archive
(formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network
Time span 1975-2000

ANR-Research
(formerly known as ARRIP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan. A research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network
Time span: Current
Updated: bi-monthly

ANR-Research Archive
(formerly known as CARRP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan. A research in progress database that contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database) across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network
Time span 1984+

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (on Cambridge Scientific Abstracts):

Part 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources (ASFA1)
ASFA 1 provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined. Fisheries receive particular attention, with comprehensive sections on fishing methods, statistics, aquaculture, food technology, productivity, conservation, and marketing.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: Biological Sciences and Living Resources 1971+
Updated: Monthly

Part 3: Aquatic pollution and environmental quality (ASFA3)
ASFA3 is devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries, the journal examines a spectrum of current aquatic and environmental issues including global change; acid rain; eutrophication; radioactive waste disposal; plastic debris; oil spills; coastal zone management; pesticides; international conventions and treaties, and much more.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: Aquatic pollution and environmental quality 1990+
Updated: Bi-monthly

Arts and Humanities Citation Index see Web of Science

Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online Database (AANRO)
Incorporates Australian Bibliography of Agriculture ABOA, Australian Rural Research in Progress (ARRIP) and Streamline.
A knowledge base of bibliographic and research information designed as a national decision support system and single access point for knowledge on Australian agriculture and natural resource management (ANR).
The AANRO knowledge base contains about 200,000 detailed descriptions of research projects and publications on Australian agriculture and natural resources.
Access: Freely available to all

Australian heritage bibliography (AHB)
Formerly HERA, this bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Source documents include journal articles, unpublished reports, books, videos and conference proceedings from many different sources around Australia. Emphasis is placed on reports written or commissioned by government and non-government heritage agencies throughout the country.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1987+

Biological abstracts see Biosis Previews
Indexes articles from life sciences journals and items from conferences, meetings and symposia from 1980 onwards.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restricts access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use.
Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1980+
Updated: Weekly

CAB Abstracts
Index with abstracts to over 11,000 journals as well as books, conferences, reports, theses etc. Subjects covered include animal sciences, veterinary sciences, dairy science and technology, plant breeding and genetics, crop sciences, crop protection, environmental and natural resources, forestry, post-harvest science and technology, agricultural biotechnology, biodegradation, agricultural engineering, agricultural economics, rural development and sociology, leisure, recreation and tourism, human nutrition, tropical diseases and medical parasitology.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use.
Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1910+
Updated: Monthly

Chemical Abstracts online see SciFinder Scholar

Current Contents Connect
Current Contents Connect is a service by ISI (the Institute for Scientific Information) which provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data of current issues of more than 8,000 science, social sciences, arts and humanities leading scholarly journals. It has a useful email alert facility which allows weekly update search results to be emailed to you automatically.
Time span: Last 4 years
Updated: Daily

Ei compendexWeb
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Time span: 1884+

ELIXIR: Electronic Library eXchange for Information Resources
DPI's Electronic LIbrary eXchange for Information Resources (ELIXIR), produced by the Knowledge and Information Branch of the Victorian Department of Primary Industries, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, maps, manuscripts and pictorial matter in the Knowledge Resource Centre at Werribee and small regional collections of the Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment.
ELIXIR includes records for publications from specialist collections in agriculture, mineral resources, conservation and land management/planning.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1990+

ENDANGER: Threatened Species in Australia (on Heritage & Environment)
Material, both general and specific, on Australia's threatened flora and fauna.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1960+
Updated: Annual

ENGINE : Australian Engineering Database
Subject coverage includes all branches of engineering including: agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, earthquake, education, electrical, electronic, geotechnical, management, materials, mechanical, military, ocean, railway, structural, transport, tunnelling and water.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1980+

Essential Science Indicators (Institute for Scientific Information)
A omprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trends data derived from ISI’s databases. The chief indicators of output, or productivity, are journal article publication counts. For influence and impact measures, ESI employs both total citation counts and cites per paper scores. The former reveals gross influence while the latter shows weighted influence, also called impact. Data is limited to journal articles indexed by ISI. Types of data featured in ESI include most cited author rankings, institutional (university, corporate, government research lab) rankings, national rankings, and journal rankings.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1992+
Updated: Bimonthly

EVA: Environmental abstracts (on Heritage & Environment)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Source documents are selected journal articles from approximately 600 journals published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. Pre-February 1998 data includes planning, heritage, urban design and town planning subject coverage.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1987+

FirstSearch
Database service which includes PapersFirst (index of papers presented at conferences) Proceedings (index of conference publications)
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.

Geobase
A bibliographic database for all aspects of physical and human geography, geology, ecology and Third World studies. Its
interdisciplinary nature allows for searching environmental issues, and other areas that cross traditional subject boundaries.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1980+
Updated: Quarterly

Georef
A database of citations to geoscience journal articles, books, conferences, maps, reports, theses.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1785+ for North America; 1933+ for the rest of the world
Updated: Quarterly

Google Scholar
A free service for searching scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Access: Freely available to all.

Heritage & Environment
Ten Australian databases, mostly bibliographic, including indexes to journals, books, newspaper articles, reports, theses and manuscripts, conference proceedings and audio-visual material. Some relevant databases included are:

Journal Citation reports: JCR Web (Institute for Scientific Information)
Contains impact factors and other citation data derived from ISI's Citation indexes and covers journals in science, technology, and the social sciences.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.

Medline on PUBMED
A free, customised version of Medline which includes links to full text articles (University of Adelaide users only) and sequence databases. See Library tutorial on searching PubMed.
Access: Freely available to all
Time span: 1966+

Prime Notes
Contains fact sheets and research summaries from all departments of primary industries and agriculture Australia-wide. Topics covered include crop production, horticulture, pastures, aquaculture, landcare, animal husbandry and health, farm safety and farm business management.
Access: Available at Roseworthy and Waite Libraries only.

REEF: Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database (on Heritage & Environment)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Source documents are selected journal articles from approximately 600 journals published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. Pre-February 1998 data includes planning, heritage, urban design and town planning subject coverage.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1982+

SAGE
A bibliographic database indexing popular journals across a broad range of subjects, including science, environmental science, natural history, agriculture, recreation. Most journals indexed are Australian but several overseas titles are also included.
Some SAGE online records have links to the full text article.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University
community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use.
Time span: 1984+

Science Citation Index see Web of Science

ScienceDirect
Contains the full text of journals published by Elsevier Science in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the University of Adelaide community (including staff belonging to SAMHS and PIRSA/SARDI), for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts online)
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. You can use the database on one computer within the Waite or Barr Smith Libraries. Access from outside the Library in University Departments needs installation of software -- follow the link for instructions. Access is not available outside the University network.
Installation instructions
Help guide
Time span: Full searching from 1967 onward, and more limited searching from 1947-1966.
Updated: Daily

Scirus (Elsevier)
Scirus searches scientific, technical and medical Web pages and reports and journal articles from a selection of publishers and databases.
Access: Freely available to all.

Scopus
Scopus and Web of science are large databases covering science and other subjects and allowing cited reference searching (finding articles that have cited a given article). The 1980 onwards date range of Web of science makes it the more useful database for cited reference searching.
Scopus and Web of science can also be searched by topic but they lack the depth of coverage of a biological database such as Biosis previews.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the University of Adelaide community (including staff belonging to SAMHS and PIRSA/SARDI), for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span:1996 onwards for cited reference searching and 1966 onwards for topic searching.

Social Sciences Citation index see Web of Science

Streamline: on Heritage & Environment
Contains over 25 000 records on all aspects of natural resource management covering the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources. Indexes and abstracts Australian and international journal articles, published and unpublished reports, research in progress, books, conference papers, where material is about Australia or written by an Australian.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1982+ with selected earlier material
Updated: Six-monthly

Threatened Species in Australia (ENDANGER) (on Heritage & Environment)
Material, both general and specific, on Australia's threatened flora and fauna.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1960+
Updated: Annual

USDA/CRIS database
USDA's Current Research Information System for ongoing and recently-completed research projects in agriculture, food, nutrition and forestry.
Access: Freely available to all.

VITIS-VEA (VITIS; Viticulture and enology abstracts)
An international English-language literature database in the field of viticulture and enology. It contains information from all over the world and corresponds to the "VITIS -Viticulture and Enology Abstracts" (scientific reviews) and "Informationsdienst praxisbezogener Literatur im Weinbau" (technical reviews) in print. The database covers about 60% more citations than the printed versions and provides bibliographic data, keywords and abstracts in English (or, in German, see below). Scientific articles on the fields: morphology, physiology, and biochemistry of grapevines; soil science; genetics and grapevine breeding; phytopathology and grapevine protection; cellar techniques; economics of viticulture and enology; enology; microbiology of wine. In addition, since 1994: Technical articles from German language journals (abstracts provided in German).
Access: Freely available to all.
Time span: 1969+

Water Resources Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Indexes journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports on water resource conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management. Includes Water Resources Netsites, a gateway to evaluated water resources Web sites.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1967+

Web of Knowledge (Institute for Scientific Information)
Comprising Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, ISI Journal Citation Reports and ISI essential science indicators.
A platform for searching individual ISI or multiple ISI products simultaneously.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.

Web of Science (Institute for Scientific Information)
Comprising Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Web of Science indexes a wide range of journal articles in all fields. As well as standard topic searches, it allows searches for articles that have cited a given author, article, book or other item.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1980+
Updated: Weekly

Zoological Record
More than 3 million citations to the world wide literature on zoology, with systematic and taxonomic information for 27 animal groups. Topics include behaviour, biochemistry, biophysics, communication, disease, evolution, genetics, habitat, development and life cycle, morphological variation, nomenclature, paleontology, taxonomy and zoogeography.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to members of the Adelaide University community, for the purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.
Time span: 1978+
Updated: Monthly


Journals

Electronic journals

Click here for a list of online journals relevant to agriculture which are available from our catalogue. If you don't find a journal on this list, search the Library catalogue directly for the journal.

Journal abbreviations and lists of journals

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
A database containing publication details of current journals including price and subscription/editorial addresses.
PubList: Internet directory of publications
A comprehensive searchable directory of journal and newspaper publication details including online availability, links to publishers' web sites. Information is derived from Ulrich's International Periodicals directory and other sources.

To confirm the correct titles of journals, try these lists, some of which can be searched by journal abbreviation:
To find which databases index specific journals, search JAKE (Jointly Administered Knowledge Environment)

Journal impact factors

ISI's journal impact factors, rankings of journals by the number of times they are cited, are listed in:
Journal citation reports online

Current awareness

A guide to several ways of keeping track of new journal articles as they are published.

Conferences and proceedings

Agricultural Conferences, Meetings, Seminars Calendar

PapersFirst (on FirstSearch)
Contains citations to published papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia from 1993 onwards.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.

Proceedings (on FirstSearch)
Contains citations of publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.
Access: Use of this resource is governed by license agreements which restrict access to Adelaide University staff and students, for purposes of non-commercial research, education or personal use. Access is available from both within and outside the University network.


General directories

European Research Networks and Information Sources (on the European Community's Europa Web site)

(on the European Community's Europa Web site) (on the European Community's Europa Web site)

Resources of Scholarly Societies - Agricultural and Food Sciences Subject pages by compilers at the University of Waterloo Library to facilitate access to webpages and gophers maintained by or for scholarly societies across the world.


Organisations including government departments

BC DE FG HI J K L M N O P QR ST UV W X-Z

Also check under individual resource guides for additional entries.

ABARE (Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics)

ABB Grain

ABC Rural Online

Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Australia

American Society of Horticultural Science

AOAC International - Association of Official Analytical Chemists

ASAE - American Society of Agricultural Engineers

Australian Academy of Science

Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE)

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research

Australian Fisheries Management Authority

Australian Government Agriculture Portal

Australian Government's entry point See also some individual department names in this list

Australian Landcare Council

Australian Pork Limited

Australian Wheat Board

Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation

Australian Wine Research Institute

The Biochemical Society (UK)

Bureau of Meteorology, Australia

Bureau of Rural Sciences, Australia

CAB International

Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS) China's national agricultural resarch organisation. English version.

Citrus Industry Development Board of South Australia

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory online

Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR)

CRC for Molecular Plant Breeding

CRC for Plant-Based Management of Dryland Salinity

CRC for Viticulture

CRC for Weed Management Systems

CropLife America (American Crop Protection Association)

CSIRO Australia

Dairy Australia Incorporates the Australian Dairy Corporation and the Dairy RDC

Dairy Authority of South Australia

Department of Agriculture, Western Australia.

Department for Environment and Heritage, South Australia

Department of Primary Industries, New South Wales

Department of Primary Industries, Queensland

Department of Primary Industries, Victoria

Department of Primary Industries, Water and Environment, Tasmania

Department of Primary Industry, Fishing and Mines, Northern Territory

Department of Sustainability and Environment, Victoria

Department of Water, Land and Biodiversity Conservation, South Australia

Environment Australia Online Department of Environment & Heritage

Farmsafe Australia Inc.

FAS Online (Foreign Agricultural Service, US Department of Agriculture)

Fisheries Research & Development Corporation

Food and Agriculture Organisation - FAO Corporate Document Repository

Forest & Wood Products Research & Development Corporation

Grains Research & Development Corporation (Grain Zone)

Grape and Wine Research & Development Corporation

Horticulture Australia

Institute of Agricultural Management (U.K.)

International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)

Japan. National Agriculture and Food Research Organization

Japan. National Research Institutes of Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry & Fisheries

Land and Water Australia (LWRRDC)

National Agriculture and Food Research Organization (Japan)

National Agriculture Library (U.S.)

National Farmers' Federation

National Research Institutes of Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry & Fisheries (Japan)

Department of Primary Industry, Fishing and Mines, Northern Territory

NSW Dept. of Primary Industries

Parliament of South Australia Hansard and Legislation online

Primary Industries & Resources, South Australia

Queensland. Dept. of Primary Industries

Roslin Institute online (U.K.)

Rothamsted Research (U.K.)

Royal Society of Chemistry

Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation

Rural Training Council of Australia

SA Water

South Australia. Dept. for  Environment and Heritage

South Australia. Dept. of Primary Industries & Resources

South Australia. Dept. of Water, Land and Biodiversity Conservation

South Australian Citrus Industry Development Board

South Australian Farmers' Federation

South Australian Government entry point

South Australian Research and Development Institute

Tasmania. Dept. of Primary Industries, Water and Environment

USDA (US Department of Agriculture) home page

Victoria. Dept. of Primary Industries

Victoria. Dept. of Sustainability and Environment

Water, Land and Biodiversity Conservation Department, South Australia

Weed Science Society of America

Western Australia. Dept. of Agriculture

World Meteorological Organization


Culture collections

American Type Culture Collection - includes catalogs, order forms, links to other Internet services.

European Collection of Animal Cell Cultures- searchable catalogue with ordering information.

WFCC World Data Center for Microorganisms - a comprehensive directory of culture collections, databases on microbes and cell lines and information on biodiversity, molecular biology and genome projects.


Dissertations and theses

This guide provides information on locating both University of Adelaide theses and theses from other universities by using the Library catalogue, relevant databases and web sites. Relevant databases include:

Australasian Digital Theses Program

The University of Adelaide is a member of the ADT program which is building a distributed database of theses in digitised format from Australian and New Zealand universities. Search or browse the database, and find out how to deposit a thesis in the database.

Index to Theses

Bibliographic information on theses accepted by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland and the Council for National Academic Awards.
Time span: 1970+
Updated: Annually

ProQuest dissertation and theses

Citations and abstracts to doctoral dissertations submitted to accredited North American institutions and some other international institutions.
Time span: 1861+
Updated: Quarterly

Patents and standards

University of Adelaide Library guide to patents

University of Adelaide Library guide to standards


Scientific software

Biocatalog - a software directory of general interest in molecular biology and genetics.

ExPASy Molecular biology server - Australian mirror site - includes lists of molecular biology databases, tools and software, links to major molecular biology servers etc.

The Scientific Software Group A commercial site specialising in environmental software.

The Scientific Web Information on scientific software, contact details, demo versions, Web addresses, tips and tricks etc

Softsearch- world's largest searchable database for commercial software for all sorts of subject categories, including agriculture.



Compiled by Angela Mills