Viticulture & Oenology
Updated
by Angela Mills
General sites and gateways
- Able Grape (Only supports browsers: Safari 2.0/3.0, Firefox 2, Internet Explorer 7.0, Opera 9). Aims to be the world's most complete, authoritative, and up-to-date online source for any wine, enology, or viticultural information
- Federation Internationale
des Vins et Spiritueux / International Federation of Wines and Spirits
-
Institute of Masters of Wine
(IMW)
-
Internet
guide to wine
-
INTO WINE Main Page General guide to winemaking, regions, wine and health etc.
-
Just-drinks.com A drinks
trade site with free access to daily industry news, feature articles, research
and industry forums. Also provides a subscription service to market reports,
statistics, company profiles and more
-
Wine
State Library of South Australia. Information on their wine related materials,
with links to information on archival materials, pictorial materials, lists
of publications.
-
Wine and grape
information (UC Davis Dept. of Viticulture & Enology)
-
Wine literature of the world
Created by the State Library of South Australia to highlight their large
collection of wine-related materials. Many items are available as digitised
images and include important wine records, information on grapes and wines
of the world, the history of the Australian wine industry, wine labels,
menus and more.
-
Winebiz:
news and information for the Australian wine industry A portal site
for the Australian wine industry provided by Winetitles.
Inclludes news, vintage reports, winery search and industry overview.
-
WineDefinitions.com
Includes wine definitions, pronunciations and learning guides for viticultural
education.
-
Winegrape
Glossary By Anthony J. Hawkins. Fulltext.
-
The
World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Yeast
Databases and wine search engines
Access to fulltext electronic journals and databases from outside the University
network will require authentication with username and password. See
Authentication
for Library electronic resources.
- Agricola 1985- Database
of the US National Library of Agriculture and cooperative organisations
-
Annual
report collection A selection of annual reports of the top 500
companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.
-
Biosis
Previews 1980- Also called Biological Abstracts. International
biological database, includes viticulture, wine making, brewing, fermentation
etc.
-
CAB
Abstracts 1910- International agricultural database which covers
grape and wine research.
-
Current
Contents Connect Latest 4 years. Access to tables of contents and
bibliographic data of current issues of more than 8,000 scholarly journals.
-
Pesticide
Properties Database US ARS database used as one authoritative source
of data for calculating pesticide movement in soils. Includes data such
as soil sorption and soil half-life.
-
ScienceDirect
(Elsevier) Full text of journals published by Elsevier Science.
-
SciFinder scholar (Chemical Abstracts) 1967- Available for University
staff and students only in the Waite Library (PC no.4) and Barr Smith Library
(PCs no. 335 & 336). For installation instructions onto University
PCs, see this guide.
-
Scopus
1966- Indexes a wide range of journal articles in all fields.
-
VITIS-VEA: viticulture and
enology abstracts. An international German or English-language literature
database in the field of viticulture and enology. It covers grapevine morphology,
physiology, and biochemistry, soil science, genetics and grapevine breeding,
phytopathology and grapevine protection, cellar techniques, economics of
viticulture and enology, and the microbiology of wine.
-
Web
of Science 1980- Indexes a wide range of journal articles in all
fields.
-
Winefacts
Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation - Comprehensive statistical information
on the Australian and international wine sector, as well as wine sector
overviews and reports. Prepared statistical tables are available, and customised
data can be retrieved and downloaded into a spreadsheet program.
-
Winefiles.org A database
on wine, winemaking and grapegrowing as well as business, technology and
history. Coverage is worldwide (1988-), with special emphasis on California
(1849-). Produced by the Sonoma County Wine Library.
Closures
-
Cork Quality Council Provides a source
of information to the wine industry about the natural cork and quality
control procedures. Includes news on the progress of investigations into
cork taint.
-
New Zealand Screwcap Wine Seal Initiative
The web page aims to provide information about the Initiative, the wineries
and wines involved, technical detail about screwcap wine seals, and performance
of wines sealed using screwcaps.
Grapevines
-
Cornell Fruit Resources:
Grapes Focuses more on growing grapes in cooler climates, particularly
in the State of New York.
-
Viticulture
(Michigan State University) The viticulture information centre within the
AgNIC alliance. Includes links to the web on viticulture, mainly
pertaining to the United States. Covers reference tools, botany, pests
& diseases, vineyard management.
-
Viticulture
(Dept. of Agriculture, Western Australia) Includes information on pests
and diseases, growing grapevines in W.A. etc.
-
VITIS-VEA:
viticulture and enology abstracts. An international German or English-language
literature database in the field of viticulture and enology. It covers
grapevine morphology, physiology, and biochemistry, soil science, genetics
and grapevine breeding, phytopathology and grapevine protection, cellar
techniques, economics of viticulture and enology, and the microbiology
of wine.
-
Vitis International Variety
Catalogue Descriptor data and pictures of more than 17,000 cultivars
and Vitis species found in grapevine variety collections and in literature
-
Vitisearch created by Michel White.
Includes pictures of grape varieties
-
Winegrape
Glossary by Anthony J. Hawkins. Fulltext.
-
Yalumba Nursery Commercial
viticultural nursery site. Includes rootstock selector aid.
Diseases and pests
Health aspects of alcohol
-
Alcohol in Moderation: international
digest. Some fulltext articles.
-
Alcohol: problems and solutions
(State Uni. of NY) Useful and balanced information on effects of alcohol
on health, advertising impact of alcohol, alcohol law and policy etc, and
links to other research sites.
-
Alcohol
studies database Contains citations of over 55,000 documents
indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987.
The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage
alcohol, its use, and related consequences.
-
Wine and
Health (Australian Wine Research Institute) Includes a list of published
papers, FAQs on wine and health, and links to other sources of information.
Journals
The following list (not comprehensive) provides links to core journals
in wine science and also some trade journals. Access to full text
from the Library Catalogue is indicated. Publishers web sites are included,
however the level of access varies from tables of contents, abstracts of
articles, or sometimes fulltext of articles. Please make sure you check
the Library catalogue
to determine whether a print copy or electronic access to fulltext is available.
Tasting
Recognose: Aroma Reference
Techniques Australian site, includes articles on wine tasting by Richard
Gawel, lists of aroma descriptors, French, German and Italian translations
of wine tasting terms.
AUSTRALIA
General and trade sites
-
Australian
& New Zealand Wine Industry Buyers' Guide Fully searchable
guide to wine industry equipment, products and services
-
Australian Bureau of Agricultural
& Resource Economics (ABARE)
-
Australian Bureau of Statistics
-
Australian Stock Exchange
-
Australian
Wine and Brandy Corporation
-
Australian
Wines of Distinction
-
Bureau of Meteorology, Australia
-
National Wine and Grape Industry
Centre Charles Sturt University
-
Wine literature of the world
Created by the State Library of South Australia to highlight their large
collection of wine-related materials. Many items are available as digitised
images and include important wine records, information on grapes and wines
of the world, the history of the Australian wine industry, wine labels,
menus and more..
-
Winebiz:
news and information for the Australian wine industry Australian wine
industry's portal, produced by Winetitles and Ryan Publications.
-
Winepros
Commercial Web site (Len Evans, James Halliday et al). Includes wine industry
news, wine reviews, articles, and so on.
-
Winetitles Includes vintage
reports, Australian Winery Search, and an overview of the Australian wine
industry (sales, exports, production etc).
-
Wine World 2000 (Jim McMahon).
General information on wine regions and wineries in Australia.
Industry statistics
-
Areas
of vines and grape production by variety 2005-2006 (Winefacts Data
Warehouse, Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation)
-
Australian
beverage wine production 1969/70 to 2005/06 by State (Winefacts Data
Warehouse, Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation)
-
Australian
gross wine production 1969/70 to 2005/06 by State (Winefacts Data Warehouse,
Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation)
-
Australian
Regional Winegrape Crush Survey (AWBC)
-
Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation
Provides industry statistics, regulations, geographical indications etc
-
Australian
wine and grape industry (Australian Bureau of Statistics)
-
Australian wine grape production & winery intake : projections to....
(ABARE research report) Held in Library only at - Waite Journals 338.1099405
A.13. Also available online
-
Australian wine industry
overview Viticulture, vintage, domestic wine sales, exports,
production, wineries, world comparisons. Provided by Winetitles.
-
Global wine statistical compendium 1961-2003 / Glyn Wittwer and
Kym Anderson. Adelaide : Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation for the
Centre of Policy Studies, Monash Univesity and the Centre for International
Economic Studies, University of Adelaide, 2004.
Waite Reference, Waite Reserve, Waite External Collection 338.476632
W832g
Available online to University of Adelaide staff and students from
the Winefacts
database
-
Sales of Australian wine and brandy by winemakers/Australian Bureau
of Statistics Held in Library at - Waite Journals 31(94) A93sal
Also available fulltext on the Australian
Bureau of Statistics web site, statistics section (use the Search menu
and type in sales AND wine)
-
The
state of vitiviniculture in the world and the statistical information/Office
international de la vigne et du vin Also held in Library at -
Waite Journals 663.205 B936a
-
Vintage: the Australian Wine Yearbook The official industry annual,
containing detailed statistics on Australian and world wine production,
sales, exports, imports, consumption, areas under grapevine. Waite Reference
338.476632 V789
-
Vintage
reports (Winefacts Data Warehouse, Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation)
-
Wine Institute (California, USA)
Includes industry background and US statistics.
-
Wine Institute of New Zealand
Provides statistical information on the NZ wine industry
-
Wine sales in Australia: monthly report / Winemakers' Federation of
Australia Waite Journals 663.2005 S163.2
-
Winefacts
Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation - Comprehensive statistical information
on the Australian and international wine sector, as well as wine sector
overviews and reports. Prepared statistical tables are available, and customised
data can be retrieved and downloaded into a spreadsheet program.
-
Winegrape
production 1998/98 to 2005/06 by State (Winefacts Data Warehouse, Australian
Wine & Brandy Corporation)
-
World
wine production by country 1994 to 2005 (Winefacts Data Warehouse,
Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation)
Research and education
Wine industry organisations
Wineries (not meant to be an exhaustive list)
Canada
France
Germany
Greece
- Greek wine Includes regions, styles, legislation, links to trade, producer and winery sites.
- Greekwinemakers.com Includes information about Greek grape varieties, appellations, regions etc.
Italy
-
VinItaly Online A virtual
tour of Italy's wine exhibition, searchable by exhibitor or product. English
version.
New Zealand
South Africa
South America
-
Wines of Chile A guide to Chilean
wines, links to many winery pages, a wine forum and links to other Web
sites.
Spain
-
Spanish wine page Comprehensive
site with information on regions, grape varieties, wineries, labels, vintage
charts, dealers and distributors etc.
USA
-
American Society for Enology & Viticulture
(ASEV)
-
Wine America : the national association
of American wineries
-
American Wine Society
-
California State University.
Viticulture & Enology Research Center
-
Napa Valley
wine and wineries
-
Northwest Berry & Grape
InfoNet Information on Pacific Northwest pest management, soil and
plant nutrition, irrigation, tools for problem diagnosis, links to other
useful pest and IPM sites.
-
Society
of Wine Educators
-
UC Davis Dept. of Viticulture
& Enology
-
UC Statewide
Integrated Pest Management: Grapes
-
Wine Country Extensive
California wine country guide.
-
Wine industry
information resources (University Library, Sonoma State University)
-
Wine Institute Includes useful
links to health & society research, wine-specific research, US wine
law and American viticultural areas.
-
Winelaw
(U.S.) A division of the Wine Institute, this site contains information
gained from the US federal Register and includes full-text files of relevant
Federal Regulations and Statutes.
-
Wines.Com On U.S. wines,
includes a useful searchable database of wine terms and topics. Also links
to winery sites, trade press and news.
Other countries
|