University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View
Link to Mental Health Net

Mental Health and Psychiatry Internet Resources

Link to Hardin MD
Last update: 7 May 2008,
by Maureen Bell

USEFUL SHORTCUTS

- to information on the Library's web site

Library Home Page

Library Catalogue

Hours of Opening

Loan Periods - mental health members should check staff loan privileges

Library Maps

Other Subject Guides - including medicine, public health, nursing, and many more

Remote Access - to electronic resources, including databases and electronic journals to which the library subscribes

ON THE UNIVERSITY'S SITE

Course Database - Undergraduate Course Listing - Medicine (including Psychology and Psychiatry)

 

ON THE WEB

Medline
- links to PubMed, including the Library's customised version, notes and tutorials

This page is being developed by the Research Librarian for Mental Health at the University of Adelaide, Maureen Bell. Its purpose is to provide some links to quality mental health sites on the World Wide Web, and to save you time in locating useful material. The Discipline of Psychiatry also has a web site which provides information on its research interests and teaching activities.

Most of the material listed on this page is freely available. Material restricted to the University's staff and students, and mental health library members is password protected.

- you don't have to be a library member to join our list.

CONTENTS

Schedule of Services for Mental Health Staff
- details of library service entitlements for mental health staff

Reading Lists
- lists of books and journal articles on a wide range of mental health topics.

A Biography of Psychiatry:
The Story of Events and the People Involved in the Development of Services for the Psychiatrically Ill in South Australia 1939-1989, by W. A. Dibden. — the complete text available in .pdf format.

Consumer Information
- links to mental health information for consumers, as well as material about consumer involvement in mental health services

Directory of Mental Health Service Units (South Australia)

Document Delivery Requests
- to obtain photocopies of journal articles or book loans.

Electronic Databases
- databases (such as Medline, the Cochrane Library, Expanded Academic Index, and PsycINFO) available to mental health staff and University of Adelaide staff and students.

Electronic Journals and Books
- available only to mental health staff and University of Adelaide staff and students.

Full Text Sources
- the complete text of books, and government report literature available free on the web. Additional books and reports are also listed on individual topic pages

Journals
- mental health journal contents and abstracts, and some free full text articles. You don't have to be a library member to access this.

Legislation
- links to South Australian, interstate, commonwealth, and British mental health acts and other legal documents.

Mental Health in South Australia
- a listing of books, reports, and theses held by the University of Adelaide Library.

Mental Health Resources by Topic
- links to web resources by topic, including the free full text of reports and books.

News
- links to general and health news sources (including full text newspaper databases available to the University's staff and students), discussion lists, bookshops and publishers, and lists of new books added to the Library's collection

Organisations
- links to university departments, South Australian, Australian and international organisations

Rating Scales
- links to psychiatric rating scales, and details of where to find their print versions

Treatment Guidelines
- the free full text of practice guidelines for the management of various mental disorders

If you have any problems contacting the sites listed on these pages, comments, or suggestions for improvements send me an Email message by clicking here.