|
I have included links to the full text of some books and reports on
this page.
I've also developed a page specifically on Violence, Aggression and Dangerous Behaviour
and another which deals with Mental Health
Legislation
Lists of books and journal articles relating to forensic psychiatric nursing, forensic
psychiatry, commitment of the mentally ill, and community treatment orders can be found on my bibliographies and reading lists page.
For practice guidelines related to forensic issues click here.
Library members have online access to a number of journals of interest for this area. A selection of titles is listed below.
Behavioral Sciences and the Law
British Journal of Criminology
British Journal of Delinquency
Criminal Behaviour and Mental Health
Forensic Science International
Howard Journal of Criminal Justice
International Journal of Law and Psychiatry
Journal of Addictions and Offender Counseling
Legal & Criminological Psychology
The
2002 Mental Health Strategy For Women Offenders
Jane Laishes, Mental Health, Health Services, Correctional Service
Canada, December 2002.
AIC:
Trends & Issues in Crime and Criminal Justice
This series of (hundreds of) publications from the Australian
Institute of Criminology includes a number of publications of
particular interest for mental health, a selection of which is
listed below
Abuse of
Older People: Crime or Family Dynamics?. T&I no. 113
The Elderly
as Victims of Crime, Abuse and Neglect. T&I no. 37
Family
Homicide in Australia [T&I no. 255]
Gambling in
Australia. T&I no. 24
Mental
Disorder and Homicide in Australia. T&I no. 133
Murder-Suicide
in Australia Trends. T&I no. 82
Serial
Murder. T&I no. 25
Social
Factors in Suicide in Australia. T&I no. 52
The
Spatial Clustering of Child Maltreatment. T&I no. 119
All In The Mind - 15 July2006 - The psychology of stalking
All In The Mind - 24 March2002 - In the Mind of the Psychopath
Transcripts and audios from All in the Mind, a series on ABC Radio National. Other programs can be found here
Antisocial
Personality Disorder
A page of resources from Internet Mental Health.
Arson and Bushfires
Publications from the Australian Institute of Criminology.
Ashworth Special Hospital: Report of the Committee of
Inquiry
This is the report of the Committee of Inquiry into the Personality
Disorder Unit, Ashworth Special Hospital presented to the British
Parliament in January 1999.
Carpenter's
Forensic Science Resources
This is part of the Tennessee Criminal Law Defense resources site.
You will find a forensic psychiatry and psychology section, and
many other specialist areas of interest.
The Community Order and the Mental Health Treatment Requirement
By Linda Seymour and Max Rutherford. Sainsbury Centre for Mental Health, January 2008.
Changing the
Outlook: A Strategy for Developing and Modernising Mental Health
Services in Prisons
Published by the Department of Health, U.K., December, 2001
. Community-based Compulsory Treatment Orders in Scotland: The early evidence
By Simon Lawton-Smith. King's Fund, November 2006. This paper explores what happened in the first six months after community-based compulsory treatment orders were introduced in Scotland in October 2005. It looks at how many people have become subject to the orders, the pathways to being placed on an order, the impacts on mental health staff, and resource issues.
Criminal Justice: Home - Sainsbury Centre for Mental Health
Free full text of a number of reports on forensic mental health.
David
Willshire's Forensic Psychology and Psychiatry Links
David Willshire is a specialist psychologist in clinical psychology
and in forensic psychology who works in Victoria
(Australia)
.
Factors Underlying and Maintaining Nurses' Attitudes to Patients
with Severe Personality Disorder
Final Report to the National Forensic Nurses' Research and
Development Group, by Len Bowers, Linda McFarlane, Frank Kiyimba,
Nicola Clark, and Jane Alexander. Department of Mental Health
Nursing, City University, London, August, 2000.
Forensic Nursing
Resource Homepage
This page is produced by Phil Woods, a lecturer in Nursing at the
University of Manchester in the UK and a researcher in the Virtual
Institute for Severe Personality Disorder (VISPED). Presently in
the final stages of a PhD focused on the development of a
behaviourally based instrument to assist in the risk assessment
process he is collaborating in a European risk assessment project
with the Dutch, German and Norwegian forensic services; and
violence prediction research in Norway.
General
and Forensic Psychiatry
A page maintained by Dr Pogos Voskanian, a forensic psychiatrist.
It includes advice on the writing of medicolegal reports.
Health,
Social Work and Related Services for Mentally Disordered Offenders
in Scotland
Published by the Scottish Office in 1999
.
Inspection of Social Care Services in High Security Hospitals:
Broadmoor Hospital
This document is the report of the inspection of Broadmoor social
care service which took place between 9-19 September 2003. Two
inspectors carried out the inspection. The objective of the
inspection was to evaluate the implementation of Government policy
and guidance relating to the social care needs of patients in the
high security hospitals.
International Experiences of Using Community Treatment Orders
By Rachel Churchill, Gareth Owen, Swaran Singh, and Matthew Hotopf. This report, published in March 2007, was undertaken by the Institute of Psychiatry who received funding from the Department of Health in the UK, and presents the findings from a systematic review of existing studies on Community Treatment Orders.
International Victimology
Website
This site is described as "your gateway to victimology on the web".
It certainly contains a wide array of resources, from databases to
links, bulletin boards, and online documents and publications. Most
of the material is in English, but the sources are
international
. Intervening
to Prevent Antisocial Personality Disorder: A Scoping
Review
By Patricia Moran, and Ann Hagell. Home Office Research,
Development and Statistics Directorate, September 2001 (Home Office
Research Study 225)
Juvenile
Offenders and Victims: 1999 National Report
From the U. S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Deliquency Prevention
(OJJDP), the 1999 National Report on Juvenile Offenders and Victims
is described as "the most comprehensive source of information about
juvenile crime, violence, and victimization and about the response
of the juvenile justice system to these problems."
Look
Who'stalking: Seeking a Solution to the Problem of Stalking
An article by Michael J Allen, from the Web Journal of Current
Legal Issues, September 1996.
MacArthur
Research Network on Mental Health and the Law
The Network aims to develop new knowledge about the relationships
between mental health and the law, and to turn that understanding
into improved tools and criteria for evaluating individuals and
making decisions that affect their lives. Created by the John D.
and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation with a grant to the
University of Virginia in 1988 the Network is directed by John
Monahan.
Mandated
Community Treatment: Beyond Outpatient Commitment
An article by John Monahan and others, published in Psychiatric Services 52: 1198-2005, 2001.
Medicine & Psychiatry Expert
Actually a forensic psychiatry page, run by Harold J Bursztajn,
Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, and co-Director,
Program in Psychiatry & the Law, Harvard Medical
School
. Mental
Health and Criminal Justice : A Review of the Relationship Between
Mental Disorders and Offending Behaviours and on the Management of
Mentally Abnormal Offenders in the Health and Criminal Justice
Services [CRC funded reports]
Prepared for the Criminology Research Council, by Paul Mullen,
August 2001
.
Methamphetamine
Use and the Mental Health Expert Witness in Criminal-Forensic
Contexts
By Harold V. Hall, Stuart B. Twemlow, and Sandra B. McPherson, A
Special Report, of the Pacific Institute for the Study of Conflict
and Aggression. January, 1999.
Myth and Reality: the Relationship Between Mental Illness and
Homicide in New Zealand
By Alexander Simpson, and others. Health Research Council of New
Zealand, August 2003.
Psychiatry and
Law Updates
This page is described as "An Education and Communication Services
for Forensic, Legal, and Judicial professionals". It is the work of
William H. Reid, an American forensic psychiatrist.
Psychopathy and
Antisocial Personality Disorder: A Case of Diagnostic
Confusion
Hare, Robert. Psychopathy and Antisocial Personality Disorder: A
Case of Diagnostic Confusion
Psychiatric Times February 1996, XIII(2)
Psychwatch: Forensic
Page
Provides links to forensic organisations, journals, and other web
sites of interest.
Recidivism of Sexual Assault Offenders: Rates, Risk Factors, and
Treatment Efficacy
By Denise Lievore. A report prepared for the Office of the Status
of Women, by the Australian Institute of Criminology, May
2004.
Rehabilitation and treatment of sex offenders
A collection of links from the Australian Institute of
Criminology
.
Report of the Review of Security at the High Security
Hospitals
Report of the Review of Security at the High Security Hospitals.
London, Department of Health, 2000 This is a report of the review
of security at the three English high security (special) hospitals,
Ashworth, Broadmoor and Rampton, undertaken by Sir Richard Tilt and
the Review Team.
Review of Queensland Forensic Mental Health Services
Prepared by Paul Mullen and Karlyn Chettleburgh, Victorian
Institute of Forensic Mental Health, 2002
. Review of Sexual
Offender Treatment Programmes
Prepared for the High Security Psychiatric Services Commissioning
Board (HSPSCB) November 1998, by Derek Perkins, Sean Hammond,
Dawn Coles, and Darren Bishop.
Review of Treatments for Severe Personality Disorders
By Fiona Warren and others. Produced by the Research Development
and Statistics Directorate, Home Office, London, 2003. Home Office
Online Report 30/03.
Seminars in Practical Forensic Psychiatry
Edited by Derek Chiswick & Rosemarie Cope. Royal College of Psychiatrists, 1995. Serious Violent and Sexual Offenders. The Scottish Executive has
a number of publications available on this topic
Report of the
Committee on Serious Violent and Sexual Offenders (MacLean
Report)
Laid before the Scottish Parliament by the Scottish Ministers, June
2000.
A Review of the Research Literature on Serious Violent and Sexual
Offenders
By Clare Connelly and Shanti Williams. Scottish Executive Central
Research Unit, 2000.
Risk Assessment and Management of Serious Violent and Sexual
Offenders: A review of current issues
By Hazel Kemshall. Scottish Executive Social Research, 2002. The
findings of the reviewt are summarised in Crime and
Criminal Justice Research Programme Research Findings
No.64/2002
Serious
Violent and Sexual Offenders: The Use of Risk Assessment Tools in
Scotland
By Gill McIvor, Hazel Kemshall, and Gill Levy. Scottish Executive
Social Research, 2002. The report is summarised in Crime and
Criminal Justice Research Programme. Research Findings
No.65/2002
Serious
Violent Offenders : Sentencing, Psychiatry and Law Reform
Proceedings of a conference held 29-31 October 1991, Melbourne.
Edited by Sally-Anne Gerull and William Lucas. (Conference
proceedings (Australian Institute of Criminology); no. 19)
Sex
Offender Treatment Programs
From the John Howard Society of Alberta, 2002.
Stalking and Harassment in Scotland
By Sue Morris, and Simon Anderson, and Lorraine Murray. Scottish
Executive Social Research, 2002. The findings of the report are
summarised in Crime and
Criminal Justice Research Programme Research Findings
No.67/2002
The Stanford
Prison Experiment: A Simulation Study of the Psychology of
Imprisonment
An extensive slide show and information about this well known
experiment conducted in the summer of 1971 at Stanford University
under the supervision of Philip G. Zimbardo and others. For
Professor Zimbardo's web page click here.
The Treatment of
Psychopathic and Antisocial Personality Disorders: A Review
By Jessica H Lee (Clinical Decision Making Support Unit, Broadmoor
Hospital) 1999.
Without Conscience - Robert Hare's Web Site
Dr Robert Hare is an authority on the study of psychopathy and the author of the Psychopathy Checklist.
Without Consent: Confronting Adult Sexual Violence
Proceedings of a Conference held 27-29 October, 1992. Edited by
Patricia Weiser Easteal. (Conference proceedings (Australian
Institute of Criminology); no. 20)
Zeno's Forensic
Site
Maintained by Zeno Geradts, who works at the Forensic Science
Laboratory (Gerechtelijk Laboratorium van het Ministerie van
Justitie) in The Netherlands, this page contains information on
forensic science, forensic medicine and forensic psychiatry. |