Below is a list of journals of
interest for mental health. Many of the journals in the list are
held at the Barr Smith Library and you can check details in the
catalogue .
You may find additional titles of interest on my public health journals
list, or my nursing journals
list.
On a separate page.you will find
electronic full text of many journals, but these are
accessible only to Library members, who may have remote access
(from work or home).
Each title in the list below has at least one link, and
most have two.
The first link is to the publisher's site, at which you will
find
- General information (including instructions to authors)
- Contents of recent issues (many)
- Abstracts (some)
- Full text of articles (few). To read or download full text
sources you may need Adobe
Acrobat Reader
The links to Medline (using PubMed) will allow you to
- View titles, and abstracts for most articles. Icons on the left
indicate whether abstracts and/or full text is available
Citation includes no abstract.
Citation includes an abstract.
An orange and green banner indicates
free full text is available from PubMed Central
(PMC).
A green banner indicates there
is a link to full text and no payment or subscription is
required.
- Put time limits on the list. Click on the "Limits" option,
select a range of years, or use the "Entrez Date" option, and click
on "Go".
- "Related Articles" This option appears for every article in the
list. Clicking on this will give you a new list of articles on
similar topics
Journal Title Abbreviations
PubMed
Journals Database
This site allows you to find the full title and ISSN (International
Standard Serial Number) of a biomedical journal indexed in Medline
from its standard abbreviation. It can also convert an abbreviation
back into the full title.
Alphabetical List of
Journals
A
Academic
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
Acta
Psychiatrica Scandinavica (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Addiction
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Addictive Behaviors (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Administration and
Policy in Mental Health (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Administration
in Social Work (Publisher's site)
Advances
in Mind-Body Medicine (Publisher's site)
Advances in Psychiatric
Treatment (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
Age and Ageing
(Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Aggression
and Violent Behavior (Publisher's site)
Aggressive
Behavior (Publisher's site)
Aging and
Mental Health (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Aging, Neuropsychology, and Cognition (Publisher's site)
Alcohol and
Alcoholism (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Alcohol Research
& Health (Publisher's site) (Free full text)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Alzheimer
Disease and Associated Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American
Imago (Publisher's site)
American
Journal of Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American Journal of
Clinical Hypnosis (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American
Journal of Community Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts )
American
Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American
Journal of Family Therapy (Publisher's site)
American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American Journal
of Occupational Therapy
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American Journal of
Orthopsychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American Journal
of Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1
year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American
Journal of Psychoanalysis (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American Journal
of Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
American Journal of
Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Annals of
Behavioral Medicine (Publisher's site)
Annals of Behavioral Medicine - contents and abstracts on
Medline
Annals of
Clinical Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Annals
of General Psychiatry
(Free full text from PubMed
Central)
(From 2002 - 2004 title was Annals of General Hospital Psychiatry)
Annual Review of
Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Applied Neuropsychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Archives
of Clinical Neuropsychology (Publisher's site)
Archives of
General Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (Some sections free, with registration, after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing (Publisher's site)
(BrowseMedline for contents and abstracts)
Archives
of Sexual Behavior (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Archives of Suicide Research (Publisher's site)
Archives
of Women's Mental Health (Publisher's site)
The Arts in
Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
Audio-Digest Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (Indexes and
abstracts and summaries of content are available here)
AusEinetter (Publisher's site) (Free full text)
Australasian
Journal of Disaster and Trauma Studies (Publisher's site) (A
full text electronic journal)
Australasian Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
Australian and New Zealand
Journal of Family Therapy (Publisher's site)
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Mental Health Nursing -
contents and abstracts on Medline (Later title
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing)
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Australian Doctor
(Publisher's site)
The
Australian e-Journal for the Advancement of Mental Health
(Publisher's site)
Australian Family
Physician (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Australian
Journal of Physiotherapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Australian
Journal of Psychology (Publisher's site)
Australian Occupational Therapy Journal (Publisher's site)
Australian
Prescriber (Publisher's site)
Australian
Psychologist (Publisher's site)
Australian Social Work (Publisher's site)
BBehavioral and Brain Functions
(Free full text from PubMed
Central)
Behavioral and Brain Sciences (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Behavioral
Interventions (Publisher's site)
Behavioral
Medicine (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Behavioral
Sciences & The Law (Publisher's site)
Behaviour
Research and Therapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Behavioural and
Cognitive Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
Behavioural
Brain Research (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Behavioural
Pharmacology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Biological
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Biological
Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Bipolar
Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
BMC
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Free full text from PubMed Central
)
BMJ (British Medical
Journal) (Publisher's site)(Free full text)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Brain (Publisher's
site) (Free full text after 2 years)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Brain
and Cognition (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Brain and
Mind (Publisher's site)
British
Journal of Clinical Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
British
Journal of Criminology (Publisher's site)
British
Journal of Health Psychology (Publisher's site)
British
Journal of Medical Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
British
Journal of Occupational Therapy (Publisher's site)
British Journal of
Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
British
Journal of Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
British
Journal of Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
British
Journal of Social Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
British Journal of Social Work (Publisher's
site)
Bulletin
(Canadian Psychatric Association) (Publisher's site)
Bulletin of the Menninger Clinic (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
C
Canadian Journal of Community
Mental Health (Publisher's site)
Canadian
Journal of Occupational Therapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Canadian Journal
of Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Child
Abuse Review (Publisher's site)
Child
and Adolescent Mental Health (Publisher's site) (Previously
Child Psychology and Psychiatry Review)
Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Clinics of North America
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Child and
Adolescent Psychiatry On-Line (Publisher's site) (Full text
online journal)
Child
Psychiatry and Human Development (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Children
& Society (Publisher's site)
Clinical Child and
Family Psychology Review (Publisher's site)
Clinical
Child Psychology and Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
Clinical Neuropsychologist (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Clinical Practice and Epidemiology in Mental Health
(Free full
text from PubMed Central)
Clinical
Psychology (The Division of Clinical Psychology Newsletter of the
British Psychological Society) (Publisher's site) (Free full
text)
Clinical
Psychology and Psychotherapy (An International Journal of Theory
& Practice) (Publisher's site)
Clinical Psychology Review (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Clinical Psychology:
Science and Practice (Publisher's site)
Clinical
Social Work Journal (Publisher's site)
CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal (Publisher's site) (Free full text)
(Free full text from PuMed Central)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - contents and abstracts on
Medline
Cognitive and Behavioral Neurology (Publisher's site)
(Previously Neuropsychiatry, Neuropsychology and Behavioral
Neurology)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Cognitive
Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Cognitive
Therapy and Research (Publisher's site)
Community
Mental Health Journal (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Comprehensive Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Contemporary Family
Therapy (Publisher's site}
Contemporary
Psychoanalysis (Publisher's site)
Contemporary Psychology (Publisher's site)
Cortex (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Counselling, Psychotherapy and Health (cphJournal) (Publisher's site)(Free full text)
Criminal Behaviour and Mental
Health (Publisher's site)
Criminal
Justice and Behavior (Publisher's site)
Crisis: The
Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Critical Social Work (Publisher's site) (Free full text)
Cultural
Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology (Publisher's site)
Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Current Opinion in
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
D
Dementia and Geriatric Cognitive Disorders
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Depression
and Anxiety (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Development and
Psychopathology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Developmental Neuropsychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Developmental
Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Digest
of Neurology and Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (Free full
text)
Drug and Alcohol Dependence
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Drug and
Alcohol Review (Publisher's site)
Dyslexia
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
E
Eating
and Weight Disorders EWD (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Eating
Behaviors (Publisher's site)
eCOMMUNITY:
International Journal of Mental Health & Addiction
(Publisher's site) (A free full text electronic journal)
ECT
On-Line (A full text electronic journal - part of Psychiatry
On-Line)
ECRP: Early Childhood
Research & Practice (A full text electonic journal - the
first 2 issues are free)
Electronic Journal of
Communicative Psychoanalysis (Publisher's site) (A full text
electronic journal)
ERCP :Early Childhood Research
and Practice (Publisher's site) (A free full text electronic
journal)
Euopean
Archives of Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
European
Child & Adolescent Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
European
Eating Disorders Review (Publisher's site)
European
Eating Disorders Review (Publisher's site)
European
Journal of Social Work (Publisher's site)
European
Neuropsychopharmacology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
European
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Evidence-Based Mental
Health (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
F
Family Process
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Forensic Echo
(Publisher's site) (A full text electronic journal)
Forensic Psychiatry
On-Line (A full text electronic journal - part of Psychiatry
On-Line)
G
General
Hospital Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Geriatrics
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
German
Journal of Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
Gerontologist
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Gerontology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstratcs)
Group
(Publisher's site)
Group
Analysis (Publisher's site)
Group
Processes and Intergroup Relations (Publisher's site)
H
Harm Reduction Journal
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Harvard
Mental Health Letter (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Harvard
Review of Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Health & Social Work (Publisher's site)
Health
Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
History of
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Hospital
Medicine (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Human Givens:
radical psychology today (Publisher's site)
The Human Nature
Review (Publisher's site) (A full text electronic journal)
Human
Psychopharmacology: Clinical and Experimental
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
I
Infant
Behavior and Development (Publisher's site)
Infant
Mental Health Journal (Publisher's site)
International
Clinical Psychopharmacology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Forum of Psychoanalysis (Publisher's site)
International
Journal of Aging and Human Development (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International Journal of
Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Eating Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International Journal of Emergency Mental Health - contents and
abstracts on Medline
International
Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Group Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International Journal of Integrated care
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Intensive Short-Term Dynamic Psychotherapy
(Publisher's site)
International
Journal of Law and Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Mental Health (Publisher's site)
International
Journal of Mental Health Nursing (Publisher's site) (Previously
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Mental Health
Nursing)
International Journal of Mental Health Systems
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
International
Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International Journal of
Obesity and Related Metabolic Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Psychiatric Nursing Research (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice (Publisher's
site)
International
Journal of Psychiatry in Medicine (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International Journal of
Psycho-Analysis (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Psychology (Publisher's site)
International
Journal of Psychophysiology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International Journal of
Psychosocial Rehabilitation (Publisher's site) (A full text
electronic journal)
International
Journal of Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
International Journal
of Social Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Journal of Stress Management (Publisher's site)
International Psychogeriatrics (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
International
Review of Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
International
Social Work (Publisher's site)
Internet Journal of Mental Health (Publisher's site) (A peer
reviewed online journal)
Internet
Mental Health Magazine (Publisher's site) (A full text
electronic journal)
Irish
Journal of Psychological Medicine (Publisher's site)
Issues in
Child Abuse Prevention (National Child Protection
Clearinghouse) (Publisher's site) (Free full text)
Issues in Mental
Health Nursing (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
J
JAMA
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal for
Specialists in Group Work (Publisher's site)
Journal for the
Psychoanalysis of Culture & Society (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Abnormal Child Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Abnormal Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Adolescence (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Adult
Development (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Affective Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Alzheimer's
Disease (Publisher's site)
The Journal of Analytical Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Anxiety Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Applied Behavior Analysis (Publisher's site)
(Free full text from PubMed Central) (After 6 months)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Applied Behavioral Science (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Applied Psychoanalytic Studies (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Applied Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Autism
and Developmental Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Behavior Therapy and Experimental Psychiatry (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Behavioral Health Services & Research (Publisher's
site) (Previously Journal of Mental Health Administration)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Behavioral Medicine (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Child
and Adolescent Group Therapy (Publisher's site)
Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and Mental Health
Nursing - contents and abstracts on Medline)
(Later title Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric
Nursing)
Journal of
Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing (Publisher's site)
(Previously Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and Mental
Health Nursing)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Child Psychology and Psychiatry and Allied Disciplines
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Child Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Clinical
Child and Adolescent Psychology (Publisher's site) (Previously
Journal of Clinical Child Psychology)
(Browse Medline for Contents and Abstracts)
Journal of Clinical Child Psychology - contents and abstracts on
Medline
Journal of
Clinical Geropsychology (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Clinical Neuroscience (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Clinical
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Clinical Psychoanalysis (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Clinical Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Clinical Psychology in Medical Settings (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Clinical Psychopharmacology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Cognitive
Rehabilitation (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Community & Applied Social Psychology (Publisher's
site)
Journal
of Community Psychology (Publisher's site)
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Contemporary Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
Journal of Counseling Psychology (Publisher's
site)
Journal
of Cross-Cultural Psychology (Publisher's site)
Journal of ECT
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Jounal of
European Psychoanalysis (Publisher's site)
Journal of Family Therapy (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Previously Journal of Forensic Psychiatry)
Journal
of Geriatric Psychiatry and Neurology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Interprofessional Care (Publisher's site) (Previously Holistic
Medicine)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Loss and Trauma (Publisher's site)
Journal of Marital and Family Therapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Mental Health (Publisher's site)
Journal of Mental Health Administration - contents and abstracts on
Medline (Later title Journal of Behavioral Health
Services & Research)
Journal
of Mental Health Policy and Economics (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Nervous and Mental Disease (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Neurology
Neurosurgery and Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (Free full text
after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical
Neurosciences (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Neuroscience
(Publisher's site) (Free full text after 6 months)
Journal of
Orthomolecular Medicine (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Pain and Symptom Management (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Pediatric
Psychology (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Personality and Social Psychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Personality Disorders (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Poetry
Therapy (Publisher's site)
Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Psychiatric Practice (Publisher's site) (Previous title Journal
of Practical Psychiatry and Behavioral Health)
Journal of Psychiatric Research (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
(Free full text from PubMed
Central)
Journal
of Psychopathology and Behavioral Assessment (Publisher's
site)
Journal of
Psychopharmacology (Publisher's site)
Journal of Psychosocial
Nursing and Mental Health Services (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Psychosomatic
Obstetrics and Gynecology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of Psychosomatic Research (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of
Psychotherapy Practice and Research (Publisher's site) (Free
full text)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Rational-Emotive & Cognitive-Behavior Therapy
(Publisher's site)
Journal of
Reproductive and Infant Psychology (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Sex and Marital Therapy (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Sex Research (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Social and Clinical Psychology (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Social Work Education (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Social Work Practice (Publisher's site)
Journal
of Systemic Therapies (Publisher's site)
Journal of
Telemedicine and Telecare (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of the
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of the
American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of the American Academy of Psychoanalysis - contents and
abstracts on Medline
Journal of
the American Academy of Psychoanalysis and Dynamic Psychiatry
(Publisher's site) (Previously Journal of the American Academy of
Psychoanalysis)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses
Association (Publisher's site)
Journal of the American
Psychoanalytic Association (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
The Journal
(of the Californian Alliance for the Mentally Ill) (Publisher's
site)
Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior
(Free full text from PubMed
Central)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal of the
International Neuropsychological Society (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journal
of Traumatic Stress (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journals of
Gerontology: Series A Biological and Medical Sciences
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Journals of
Gerontology: Series B Psychological and Social Sciences
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
K
Kleinian Studies
(Publisher's site) (A full text electronic journal)
L
Lancet (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Learning & Memory
(Free full text from PubMed Central (after 1 year)
Legal and
Criminological Psychology (Publisher's site)
M
Medical Journal of Australia
(Publisher's site)(Free full text)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Mental Health and Society - contents and abstracts on
Medline
Mental Health Care - contents and abstracts on Medline
Mental
Health, Religion & Culture (Publisher's site)
Mental
Health Services Research (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Molecular Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
N
National
Bulletin (Australian Association of Social Workers)
(Publisher's site)
Nature (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Nature Medicine
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Nature Neuroscience
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Nature Reviews
Neuroscience (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Neurocase
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
(Neuropsychiatry, Neuropsychology, and Behavioral Neurology -
contents and abstracts on Medline )
Neuropsychobiology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Neuropsychologia
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Neuropsychology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Neuropsychology
Review (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Neuropsychopharmacology (Publisher's site) (Free
full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
New
Directions for Child & Adolescent Development (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
New Directions for Mental Health Services - contents and abstracts
on Medline
New England Journal of
Medicine (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 6 months, but you need to register)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
New Ideas
in Psychology (Publisher's site)
New Scientist
(Publisher's site)
New Therapist
(Publisher's site)
Noetica: A
Cognitive Science Forum (Publisher's site) (A full text
electronic journal)
An electronic journal of the Australasian Cognitive Science
Society.
Nordic Journal of Music
Therapy (Publisher's site)
Nutrition
Journal
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
P
Pain
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Parity (Council
to Homeless Persons) (Publisher's site)
Perceptions:
Newsletter of the National Mental Health Strategy (Publisher's
site) (Full text of recent issues)
Perspectives
in Psychiatric Care (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Pharmacopsychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Physical
and Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics (Publisher's site)
POL.It
Psychiatry Online Italia (Publisher's site) (A full text
electronic journal)
Prevention and
Treatment (Publisher's site) (A full text electronic
journal)
Primary Care Companion to the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
(Publisher's site)
Progress
in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
PsyArt:
An Online Journal for the Psychological Study of the Arts
(Publisher's site) (A full text electronic journal)
PSYCHE: An
Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on Consciousness
(Publisher's site) (A full text electronic journal)
Psychiatric
Annals (Publisher's site)
Psychiatric Bulletin
(Royal College of Psychiatrists) (Publisher's site) (Free full
text after 1 year)
Psychiatric Clinics of North America (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychiatric News (Publisher's site) (Free full text)
Psychiatric
Quarterly (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychiatric
Rehabilitation Journal (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychiatric Services (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Previously
Hospital and Community Psychiatry)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychiatric Times
(Publisher's site) (Full text available for recent years)
Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychiatry:
Interpersonal and Biological Processes (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychiatry On-Line The
International Forum for Psychiatry (Publisher's site) (A full
text electronic journal)
Psychiatry, Psychology and Law (Publisher's site)
Psychiatry
Research (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychoanalysis &
History (Publisher's site)
Psychoanalysis
Downunder (Publisher's site) (A full text electronic
journal)
Psychoanalytic
Inquiry (Publisher's site)
Psychoanalytic
Psychology (Publisher's site)
Psychoanalytic
Psychotherapy (Publisher's site)
Psychoanalytic
Quarterly (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for - contents and abstracts)
Psychoanalytic
Review (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychoanalytic
Social Work (Publisher's site)
Psychoanalytic Study
of the Child (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychodynamic
Practice (Publisher's site) (Previous title Psychodynamic
Counselling)
Psychological
Assessment (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychological Bulletin (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychological
Medicine (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychological Reports - contents and abstracts on Medline
Psychological Review (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychology and Aging (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychology
in the Schools (Publisher's site)
Psychology of
Addictive Behaviors (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychoneuroendocrinology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psycho-Oncology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychopathology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychopharmacology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychophysiology
(Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychosomatic
Medicine (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 2 years)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychosomatics (Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics (Publisher's
site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Psychotherapy
Patient (Publisher's site)
PTSD
Research Quarterly (Publisher's site) (A full text electronic
journal)
Q
The Qualitative
Report (Publisher's site) (A full text electronic journal)
Quality
Assurance Journal (Publisher's site)
R
Rehabilitation
Psychology (Publisher's site)
Research
in Nursing & Health (Publisher's site)
Research
on Social Work Practice (Publisher's site)
Reviews in
Clinical Gerontology (Publisher's site)
Royal
College of Psychiatrists. Spirituality and Psychiatry Special
Interest Group. Newsletter (Publisher's site) (Free full
text)
S
Scandinavian
Psychoanalytic Review (Publisher's site)
Schizophrenia
Bulletin (Publisher's details) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Schizophrenia Research (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Science
(Publisher's site) (Free full text after 1 year)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Scientific American
(Publisher's site)
Seminars in Clinical Neuropsychiatry (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Sexual and
Relationship Therapy (Publisher's site) (Previous title Sexual
and Marital Therapy)
Social
Psychiatry and Psychiatric Epidemiology (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Social
Science & Medicine (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Social Service
Review (Publisher's site)
Social Work (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Social
Work in Health Care (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Social Work Research (Publisher's site)
Sociology of Health and Illness (Publisher's site)
Stress
and Health (Publisher's site) (Previously Stress Medicine)
Substance Abuse Treatment, Prevention, and Policy
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
Suicide
and Life-Threatening Behavior (Publisher's site)
(Browse Medline for contents and abstracts)
T
Transcultural
Psychiatry (Publisher's site)
Trauma,
Violence, and Abuse (Publisher's site)
Traumatology
(Publisher's site) (Free full text)
W
World
Federation for Mental Health. Newsletter (Publisher's site)
(Free full text)
World Psychiatry
(Free full text from PubMed Central)
Collections of
Articles
A number of journals have created subject collections of their own
articles. Most of those I will list here have the full text
available.
American
Journal of Psychiatry -- Collections
Articles are listed by topic. There are too many topics to list
individually on this page, but the site is worth exploring as the
full text of many articles listed is available free of charge.
eBMJ -- How to
read a paper
This series of articles by Trisha Greenhalgh was published in the
BMJ in 1997 to assist readers in evaluating journal literature.
eBMJ --
Collected Resources: Anxiety
eBMJ -- Collected Resources: Child and Adolescent
Psychiatry
eBMJ --
Collected Resources: Dementia
eBMJ
-- Collected Resources: Drugs: psychiatry
eBMJ
Collected Resources : Mood Disorders (Including Depression)
eBMJ
-- Collected Resources: Other Psychiatry
eBMJ
-- Collected Resources: Psychogeriatrics
eBMJ --
Collected Resources: Psychology
eBMJ --
Collected Resources: Schizophrenia
eBMJ
-- Collected Resources: Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
You can see the complete list of subjects covered in the BMJ
Collected Resources at BMJ -- Collected
Resources
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Abuse (child, partner, elder)
eCMAJ -- Collected Resources : Anxiety disorders (including OCD and
PTSD)
eCMAJ -- Collected Resources : Delirium, amnestic, cognitive
disorders
eCMAJ --
Collected Resources : Dementia
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Drugs: psychiatry
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Eating disorders
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Impulse control disorders
eCMAJ -- Collected Resources : Mood disorders (including
depression)
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Other psychiatry
eCMAJ --
Collected Resources : Personality disorders
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Psychogeriatrics
eCMAJ -- Collected Resources : Schizophrenia & disorders with
psychotic features
eCMAJ --
Collected Resources : Suicide
eMJA:
Articles on Psychiatry
A collection of articles from the Medical Journal of Australia.
This collection is updated as new articles on the subject are
published. For other subject collections in the Medical Journal of
Australia see their eMJA: Topic Lists
.
Review Articles and Editorials
from Core Journals
The information explosion with which we are now confronted means
that sorting through the vast array of material available can be
daunting. I've selected a limited number of major journals (listed
below) and set links for two sets of journals on PubMed (a set for
psychiatry, and a set for psychiatric nursing). I've then limited
the first search to review articles only, and the second to
editorials only.
Core Psychiatry Journals Review Articles
Core Psychiatry Journals Editorials
The journals I have included are:-
American Journal of Psychiatry
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry
British Journal of Psychiatry
Canadian Journal of Psychiatry
Harvard Review of Psychiatry
Journal of Clinical Psychiatry
Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease
Psychiatric Clinics of North America
Psychiatric Services
Psychological Medicine
Core Psychiatric Nursing Journals Review Articles
Core Psychiatric Nursing Journals Editorials
The journals I have included are:-
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Mental Health
Nursing
Issues in Mental Health Nursing
Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services
Perspectives in Psychiatric Care
Free Journals Online
PubMed has a digital
archive of selected life science journals at PubMedCentral.
Other
useful lists are
The Free Medical
Journals Site,
VirtualMedOnline Journal Central
HighWire Press -- Free Online Full-text Articles
Other Resources
Staff and students of the University of Adelaide can also access
the
ISI Current Contents Connect database which is produced in the
United States by ISI (the Institute for Scientific Information) and
which indexes a wide range of science, social sciences, arts and
humanities journals.
Australian
Institute of Family Studies. Current Australian Journal
Abstracts.
This weekly current awareness service provides a listing of
Australian journals, and articles by Australians in international
journals which have been selected for inclusion in the Institute's
database Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY). You
can also access the full database through AUSTROM, but this is
restricted to mental health staff, and staff and students of the
University.
H-Index, or Hirsch Numbers
The H-index, sometimes called the Hirsch Index or Hirsch number, is based on the distribution of citations received by a given researcher's publications. The index was originally proposed by Jorge Hirsch in 2005.
H Index – A New Measure to quantify the Research Output of Individual Scientists (Lutz Bornmann)
h-index - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Journal Impact Factors
The journal impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year. The impact factor will help you evaluate a journal’s relative importance, especially when you compare it to others in the same field.
Impact factor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
The Number That's Devouring Science
Chronicle of Higher Education, October 14, 2005.
The Thomson Scientific Impact Factor - Thomson Scientific
This essay was originally published in the Current Contents print editions June 20, 1994, when Thomson Scientific was known as The Institute for Scientific Information. It includes details on how to calculate an impact factor.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) allows you to check impact factors of journals in your field.
Access restricted to students and staff of the University Instructions to Authors
If you are intending to submit an article for publication you will
find that many journals provide instructions to authors on their
web pages, a large number of the biomedical journals adhere to the
Uniform requirements for
manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. also referred to
as the Vancouver Guidelines. Another useful web site is Instructions to
Authors in the Health Sciences |