Below are links to lists of
journals of interest
for psychology. Many of the journals in the lists are held at the Barr
Smith Library and you can check details in the catalogue .
Very few publishers make the full text of articles freely
available
at their web sites, so check the catalogue for electronic journal
subscriptions
where full text is available to the University's staff and students.
You
need to access these journals through our site, as if you go
direct
to the publisher's site your library membership will not be recognised,
and you will be asked to pay for access to full text.
Journals Lists
American Psychological
Association
Journals
British
Psychological
Society Journals
Electronic
Journals and Periodicals in Psychology and Related Fields
Maintained by John H. Krantz, Hanover College.
PSYCLINE:
Your Guide to Psychology and Social Science Journals on the Web
An index of over 2,000 psychological and social science journals on the
web.
If you would like to set up journal links of your own using
PubMed (a
free version of Medline from the Natoional Library of Medicine) there
are
instructions for doing this at Linking
to PubMed and Other Entrez Databases
There is a list of journals with links to publishers' sites,
and contents
and abstracts on Medline on my mental
health page.
Other Resources
Staff and students of the University of Adelaide can also
access the ISI
Current Contents Connect
database which is produced in the United
States
by ISI (the Institute for Scientific Information) and which indexes a
wide
range of science, social sciences, arts and humanities journals.
Instructions on creating your own profile on Current Contents are here - you
can arrange for regular alerts by topic, journal title, or author, or a
combination of these.
Free Journals Online
PubMed has a digital archive of selected life science journals at PubMedCentral.
Other useful lists are
The Free Medical Journals Site,
VirtualMedOnline Journal Central
HighWire Press -- Free Online Full-text Articles
Cogprints
CogPrints is an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area
of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of
computer
science, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and
mathematical
sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. It is a useful
source
of free full text in this area.
Instructions to Authors
If you are intending to submit an article for publication you will find
that many journals provide instructions to authors on their web pages,
a large number of the biomedical journals adhere to the Uniform
requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. also
referred to as the Vancouver Guidelines. Details of American
Psychological
Association style and Harvard referencing are here.
Another useful web site is Instructions
to Authors in the Health Sciences
H-Index, or Hirsch Numbers
The H-index, sometimes called the Hirsch Index or Hirsch number, is based on the distribution of citations received by a given researcher's publications. The index was originally proposed by Jorge Hirsch in 2005.
H Index – A New Measure to quantify the Research Output of Individual Scientists (Lutz Bornmann)
h-index - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Journal Impact Factors
The journal impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year. The impact factor will help you evaluate a journal’s relative importance, especially when you compare it to others in the same field.
Impact factor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
The Number That's Devouring Science
Chronicle of Higher Education, October 14, 2005.
The Thomson Scientific Impact Factor - Thomson Scientific
This essay was originally published in the Current Contents print editions June 20, 1994, when Thomson Scientific was known as The Institute for Scientific Information. It includes details on how to calculate an impact factor.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) allows you to check impact factors of journals in your field.
Access restricted to students and staff of the University |