|
I've divided this page into two sections. The first provides you with
some
tips on searching for material on Medline, and the second provides
links
to other web resources.
Searching Medline
Remember that Medline has a Thesaurus of terms - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), a controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in Medline. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information where authors may use different terminology for the same concepts.
You will find material on this subject in Medline, but you will need to
be aware of the thesaurus (MeSH) terms used to search for the various
topics. The term complementary therapies has an extensive number of more specific terms associated with it, and you can see these listed in the MeSH database.
MeSH - Complementary Therapies
Many topics in MeSH have hierarchies of more specific subcategories or related terms. The indentations in the lists reflect the structure of the hierarchy, and the + signs at the end of terms indicate that there is a further hierarchy of terms not displayed here. Any of these terms can be searched individually, or you can "explode" terms to search sections of the list.
Try using the search structure below for finding articles on
acupuncture
therapy and headache.
COMBINE
Acupuncture Therapy (MeSH Term)
AND
Headache (MeSH Term)
Pain in the cranial region that may occur
as
an isolated and benign symptom or as a manifestation of a wide variety
of conditions including SUBARACHNOID HEMORRHAGE; CRANIOCEREBRAL TRAUMA;
CENTRAL NERVOUS SYSTEM INFECTIONS; INTRACRANIAL HYPERTENSION; and other
disorders. In general, recurrent headaches that are not associated with
a primary disease process are referred to as HEADACHE DISORDERS (e.g.,
MIGRAINE).
PubMed Search Formulation
acupuncture therapy[majr] AND
headache[majr] AND
english[lang]
This search strategy uses the headings acupuncture therapy
and headache.
The section in the square brackets includes
majr
- which focuses the search on articles where the subject is
a major issue in the article. The search is then limited to articles
which
are in English.
PubMed's default setting is to "explode" all terms, and so
this search
will include all the subcategories of acupuncture therapy listed
below.
Acupressure
Acupuncture Analgesia
Acupuncture, Ear
Electroacupuncture
Meridians +
Moxibustion
Click here to see how it works. PubMed
Search.
PubMed also has a number of subsets which allow searches
to be
limited by subject. The National Center for Complementary and
Alternative
Medicine (NCCAM) and The National Library of Medicine (NLM) have
partnered
to create CAM
on PubMed, a special subset of the NLM's PubMed You simply
create
your search strategy, and add the subset at the end. For example
osteoarthritis AND cam [sb]
Other Sources
Alternative
Medicine Foundation
- Information Resource Guides
The Alternative Medicine Foundation is a nonprofit organization,
founded
in March 1998 to provide responsible and reliable information about
alternative
medicine to the public and health professionals.
The Alternative
Medicine
Homepage
This page is maintained by the Falk Library of the Health Sciences,
University of Pittsburgh.
Ask Dr Weil
This is a complementary medicine site which is maintained by a
physician
with an interest in this field.
CAM: A Database of
Complementary and Alternative Medicines and Therapies in New Zealand
An evidence-based resource about complementary and alternative medicine.
CAM
on PubMed ( Complementary Medicine Subset Strategy)
This strategy
was
created to facilitate searching for subjects in the area of
complementary and
alternative medicine on PubMed. (It's very easy to use!)
Complementary and
Alternative Medicine in the United States
Committee on the Use of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by the
American Public. Washington D.C., National Academies Press, 2005.
Complementary
and Alternative Therapies (Bandolier Library)
Bandolier is a print and Internet journal about health care, using
evidence-based medicine techniques to provide advice about particular
treatments
or diseases for healthcare professionals and consumers.
eBMJ
-- Collected Resources: Complementary Medicine
A collection of articles on this subject from the BMJ.
eCMAJ
-- Collected Resources : Complementary Medicine & Alternative
Therapies
A collection of articles on this subject from the CMAJ Canadian Medical
Association Journal.
eMJA:
Articles on Complementary Medicine
A collection of articles on this subject from the Medical Journal of
Australia.
Enhancing the
Accountability
of Alternative Medicine
A report by the Milbank Memorial Fund, January 1998.
Health
Care Information Resources -- Alternative Medicine
A collection of links from McMaster University Health Sciences Library.
Health Report - Alternative Medicine
Transcripts from Radio National's Health Report, with Norman Swan.
HealthWorld Online
Dave Robertson and James Strohecker have trade-marked the phrase
"Self-Managed
Care" as the theme for their comprehensive Web site devoted to
educating
consumers and professionals on alternative and complementary health and
medicine.
HerbMed
A searchable database providing hyper-linked access to the scientific
data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based
information
resource for professionals, researchers, and the general public.
HerbMed®
is a project of the Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.
MEDLINEplus:
Alternative Medicine
MEDLINEplus:
Herbal Medicine
MEDLINEplus is the National Library of Medicine's consumer health
information
portal. Lists of links are evaluated/reviewed/quality-filtered.
NOAH:
Complementary and Alternative Medicine
New York Online Access to Health (NOAH) is a project that brings
together
four New York partners who have worked together on a variety of
projects
for 26 years: The City University of New York, The Metropolitan New
York
Library Council, The New York Academy of Medicine and The New York
Public
Library. This link is to the complementary medicine section of their
huge
site.
National Center for
Complementary and
Alternative Medicine - NCCAM - National Institutes of Health - NIH
The Congressional mandate establishing the NCCAM in 1998 stated that
the Center's purpose is to "facilitate the evaluation of alternative
medical
treatment modalities" to determine their effectiveness. The mandate
also
provides for a public information clearinghouse and a research training
program.
University
of Washington Medicinal Herb Garden
Database of medicinal herbs by botanical names and common names. Images
of herbs are available as well as links to Medline literature on the
herb.
WholeHealthMD the
source for
Alternative medicine, Complementary medicine, Integrative medicine
This is a well designed site with information provided by physicians
and alternative medicine practitioners.
Yuthog Foundation for Tibetan
Medicine
This site includes a virtual library of links to Tibetan medicine
resources.
|