Diabetes is a major health problem worldwide. According to the World
Health
Organization recent estimates predict that if current trends continue
the
number of people with diabetes will more than double, from 140 million
to 300 million in the next 25 years. The greater proportion of the
increase
is likely to occur in the developing countries.
I've divided this page into two sections. The first provides
you with
some tips on searching for material on Medline, and the second provides
links to other Australian and overseas
web resources, including some full text material.
Searching Medline
Remember that Medline has a Thesaurus of terms - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), a controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in Medline. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information where authors may use different terminology for the same concepts.
You will find material on this subject in Medline, but you will need to be aware of the thesaurus (MeSH) terms relating to it. Diabetes alone is not a MeSH term, but it is associated with the MeSH term Diabetes Mellitus, which has a number of more specific terms associated with it, and you can see these listed in the MeSH database.
MeSH - Diabetes
Many topics in MeSH have hierarchies of more specific subcategories or related terms. The indentations in the lists reflect
the
structure of the hierarchy. Any of these terms can be searched
individually,
or you can "explode" terms to search sections of the list.
When you search for subjects using MeSH
terms
from the Medline thesaurus you will also have the option of appending
subheadings
to narrow the focus of your search.
For a list of the abbreviations used for subheadings in PubMed click
here
Try using the search structure below to search for articles on
type
2 diabetes and diet.
COMBINE
Diabetes Mellitus, Type II
(MeSH term)
A subclass of DIABETES MELLITUS that is not INSULIN-responsive or
dependent (NIDDM). It is characterized initially by INSULIN RESISTANCE
and HYPERINSULINEMIA; and eventually by GLUCOSE INTOLERANCE;
HYPERGLYCEMIA; and overt diabetes. Type II diabetes mellitus is no
longer considered a disease exclusively found in adults. Patients
seldom develop KETOSIS but often exhibit OBESITY.
AND
Diet (MeSH term)
Regular course of eating and drinking
adopted
by a person or animal. This does not include DIET THERAPY, a specific
diet
prescribed in the treatment of a disease.
PubMed Search Formulation
diabetes mellitus, type II[majr] AND
diet[majr] AND english[lang]
This search strategy uses the headings Diabetes Mellitus, Type II
and diet. The section in the square brackets includes
majr - which focuses the search on articles where the
subject
is a major issue in the article. The search is then limited to articles
which are in English or which have English abstracts.
The term Diet occurs in two places in MeSH and as PubMed's
default setting
is to "explode" all terms it will be exploded in both. This search will
therefore include all the subcategories of diet listed below in each
category.
Diet
Diet, Mediterranean
Diet, Vegetarian
Diet, Macrobiotic
Energy Intake
Caloric Restriction
Diet
Diet, Atherogenic
Diet, Cariogenic
Fasting
Click here to see how it works. PubMed
Search.
Australian Sources
Diabetes
(AIHW)
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare portal for information
on diabetes. Click
here for the full text of publications on this topic.
Diabetes Statistics
From HealthInsight, an Australian Government initiative, funded by the Department of Health and Ageing.
eMJA:
Increase in type 2 diabetes in children and adolescents in Western
Australia
By Sarah K McMahon, Aveni Haynes, Nirubasini Ratnam, Maree T Grant,
Christine L Carne, Timothy W Jones and Elizabeth A Davis.
Medical Journal of Australia 2004, 180: 459-461
eMJA:
New classification and criteria for diagnosis of diabetes mellitus
Position Statement from the Australian Diabetes Society, New Zealand
Society for the Study of Diabetes, Royal College of Pathologists of
Australasia
and Australasian Association of Clinical Biochemists prepared by Peter
G Colman, David W Thomas, Paul Z Zimmet, Timothy A Welborn, Peter
Garcia-Webb
and M Peter Moore.
Medical Journal of Australia 1999, 170: 375-378
Health Report - Diabetes
Transcripts from Radio National's Health Report, with Norman Swan.
National
Diabetes Strategy
From the Department of Health and Ageing. Provides links to a number of documents about diabetes prevention and treatment.
National Evidence Based Guidelines for the Management of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
From Diabetes Australia.
National
Health Priority
Area: Diabetes
The National Health Priority Areas of the Australian Department of Health and Ageing are cancer control, injury prevention and control, cardiovascular health, diabetes mellitus, mental health, asthma, and arthritis and musculoskeletal conditions.
Population
Research and Outcome Studies - Diabetes Clearing House
From the Department of Health in South Australia.
Principles
of Care and Guidelines for the Clinical Management of Diabetes Mellitus
From the New South Wales Health Department, 1996.
Type
2 Diabetes Costs in Australia
Type 2 Diabetes Costs in Australia: the potential impact of changes
in diet, physical activity and levels of obesity. Prepared by Geoffrey
C. Marks, Terry Coyne, and Glen Pang. Australian Food and Nutrition
Monitoring
Unit, 2001.
Overseas Sources
bmj.com
Collected Resources
: Diabetes
CDC Diabetes Public Health Resource
From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in the United States.
CDC's Diabetes Program - Publications & Products
Full text of reports and fact sheets from the Centers for Disease
Control
and Prevention's DiabetesProgram.
Conquering
Diabetes: A Strategic Plan for the 21st Century, Report Summary and
Recommendations
From the National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney
Diseases of the National Institutes of Health in the United States.
Diabetes
Resources from the Department of Health in the U.K.
Diabetes (WHO)
From the Diabetes Programme of the Division of Noncommunicable
Diseases and Mental Health of the World Health Organization.
Diabetes
Health Economics
Study Group
This page provides a link to the activities of the study group as well
as a number of internet accessible resources related to the economic
issues
of diabetes and diabetes care.
Diabetes
- healthfinder®
Healthfinder is a web site, developed by the U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services together with other Federal agencies.
Diabetes
in America, 2nd Edition
Diabetes in America. National Diabetes Data Group, National
Institutes
of Health, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney
Diseases.
NIH Publication No. 95-1468. 1995. This is a compilation and assessment
of epidemiologic, public health, and clinical data on diabetes and its
complications in the United States. It was published by the National
Diabetes
Data Group of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and
Kidney
Diseases, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD.
Diabetes
in Canada
Diabetes in Canada: National Statistics and Opportunities for Improved
Surveillance, Prevention, and Control. Diabetes Division,
Cardio-Respiratory
Diseases and Diabetes, Laboratory Centre for Disease Control, Health
Canada, 1999.
Diabetes
in Canada - Second Edition
Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control Population and Public
Health Branch, Health Canada, 2002.
Diabetes
Mellitus (OMNI)
OMNI (Organising Medical Networked Information) is a U.K. gateway to
evaluated, quality Internet resources in health and medicine, aimed at
students, researchers, academics and practitioners in the health and
medical
sciences.
Diabetes
Prevention
Program Study Documents
The Diabetes Prevention Program is funded by the National Institute
of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) to determine the
safety and efficacy of two interventions (intensive lifestyle and
metformin)
relative to a control group (standard lifestyle recommendations) in
preventing
or delaying the confirmed development of diabetes.
Diabetes
Specialist Library
From the National electronic Library for Health (NeLH) in the U.K.
FOCUS
ON
Diabetes
From Postgraduate Medicine Online.
Global
Prevalence of Diabetes: Estimates for the Year 2000 and Projections for
2030
By Sarah Wild, Gojka Roglic, Anders Green, Richard Sicree, and Hilary
King.
Diabetes Care 2004, 27: 1047–1053
Hardin
MD
: Diabetes
Links to web directories that list resources in this area.
HealthWeb
:
Diabetes: Online Publications
This list of online publications is compiled by HealthWeb, a project
supported by the National Library of Medicine in the United States, and
involving the collaboration of over 20 health science libraries.
MEDLINEplus:
Diabetes
A collection of resources from MEDLINEplus, the National Library of
Medicine's health information resource for the public.
National
Diabetes Statistics
General information, and national estimates of diabetes in the United
States.
On-line Diabetes
Resources
This site is maintained by Rick Mendosa, a freelance journalist who
specialises in writing about diabetes. His Diabetes Directory includes
web pages written by him on his site as well as other web sites such as
the American Diabetes Association.
Primary
Care Clinical Practice Guidelines - Diabetes
Guidelines - Major Studies - Articles – References. From University
of California San Francisco.
Quality Indicators for
Diabetes Services
(QUIDS)
A U.K database on measuring effectiveness of diabetes treatment.
|