University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home > Subjects G - Z > Public Health

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Public Health Resources by Topic

Last update: 1 August 2008,
by Maureen Bell

OTHER HEALTH TOPICS

Aboriginal and Other Indigenous People's Health

Adolescent Health

Aged Health

Bioethics

Cancer

Cardiovascular Disease

Complementary Medicine

Consumer Health Information

Databases Available to University of Adelaide Staff and Students

Diabetes

Dictionaries

Environmental Health

Epidemiology

Ethnic and Minority Groups

Evidence-Based Medicine

Exercise and Fitness

General Health Sites

Health Issues in Developing Countries

Health Promotion

Immunisation

Infectious Diseases

Legislation

Nutrition

Obesity

Occupational Health and Safety

Qualitative Research

Rural Health

Smoking and Health

Women's Health

The following pages list links to web sites which contain public health related information. Some contain documents which are .pdf files and you will need to download Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to read them.

General Health Sites

The list below is divided into dictionaries, Australian links and overseas links.

Dictionaries

If you need to find definitions of terms used in Public Health the following resources may be useful.

Dictionary of (Ecological) Epidemiology
Edited by Jonathan Swinton. (1998-2000)

Glossary of Environmental Health Terms
Produced by the New York State Department of Health Center for Environmental Health.

National Health Data Dictionary Version 13.2
Canberra: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2007.

On-line Medical Dictionary
OMD is a searchable dictionary created by Dr Graham Dark and contains terms relating to biochemistry, cell biology, chemistry, medicine, molecular biology, physics, plant biology, radiobiology, science and technology. It includes: acronyms, jargon, theory, conventions, standards, institutions, projects, eponyms, and history.

Public Health and Health Care Administration Glossary of Terms
Definitions have come from a variety of sources including MeSH (National Library of Medicine - Medical Subject Headings); the sources are given in parentheses after the definition. Full references are given at the end of the glossary. Recent additions, as of July 1997, include Evaluation terms.

Australian Sources

An extensive range of online documents is available at the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare site.

Australian Health Trends 2001
Michael de Looper and Kuldeep Bhatia. Canberra : Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2001.

Australia's Health
A biennial report produced by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Australia's Health is a compendium of information on health status, service provision and expenditure. The report and its companion volume, Australia's Welfare, are produced on alternate years.

Australia's Welfare
This biennial report can be used as a specialist reference in a particular field, as a general reference on welfare services in Australia, or as a description of the state of Australian social policy.

Generational Health Review (South Australia)
The Final Report, Better Choices Better Health, was produced in April 2003.

Hospitals (AIHW)
Includes Australian Hospital Statistics.

Infosearch: SA South Australian Community Health Services
A database of South Australian health and community services, produced by Community Information Strategies Australia (CISA).

International Health - How Australia Compares (Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 1998)
International Health - How Australia Compares, by Michael de Loop, and Kuldeep Bhatia. Canberra, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 1998.

METeOR home
METeOR is Australia’s repository for national data standards for health, housing and community services statistics and information.

National Delphi Study on Public Health Functions in Australia - Report on the findings - January 2000
The National Delphi Study, involving respondents from a spectrum of public health areas builds on work by the World Health Organisation (WHO), and in the United States, where definitions of core or essential public health functions have been developed and applied in various ways. There is also a separate volume of appendices.

National Health Priority Areas
From the National Health Priorities and Quality Branch.

National Public Health Partnership - Publications

Social Capital
A collection of resources from Paul Bullen, management Alternatives for Human Services.

A Social Health Atlas of Australia. 2nd. edition, 1999
A social health atlas of Australia, by John Glover, Kevin Harris, and Sarah Tennant. Public Health Information Development Unit, University of Adelaide, 1999. This publication consists of 9 volumes - one for Australia as a whole, and one for each state or territory.

Social Health Atlas of South Australia (Online), 2008
Public Health Information Development Unit, University of Adelaide.

Overseas Sources

Canadian Institute for Health Information - Publications and Products

Crossing the Quality Chasm: A New Health System for the 21st Century
Committee on Quality of Health Care in America, Institute of Medicine. Washington : National Academy Press, 2001.

The Future of Public Health
The future of public health / Committee for the Study of the Future of Public Health, Division of Health Care Services, Institute of Medicine. Washington, D.C. : National Academy Press, 1988.

Hardin MD : Preventive Medicine & Public Health
A Hardin MD lists web directories in health.

Health and Behavior: The Interplay of Biological, Behavioral and Societal Influences
Committee on Health and Behavior: Research, Practice and Policy, Board on Neuroscience and Behavioral Health, Institute of Medicine. Washington D.C., National Academy Press 2001. (Advance copy, uncorrected proofs)

Health On the Net Foundation
The Health On the Net Foundation (HON), created in 1995, is a not-for-profit International Swiss Organization. HON's mission is to guide lay persons or non-medical users and medical practitioners to useful and reliable online medical and health information. It has sophisticated search interfaces to allow access to a wide range of quality health material.

Health Topics A to Z
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this site contains a wealth of information about various common, and exotic diseases.

History in Focus: Medical History
History in Focus provides original articles, book reviews, and links to historical sources. This issue (No. 3, Spring 2002) addresses a number of health topics including epidemic disease in London.

History of Biomedicine
An extensive list of links to material on the history of biomedicine from Karolinska Institutet Library, Stockholm, Sweden. As well as western biomedicine it covers ancient Egyptian, Mesopotamian, classical Islamic, and traditional Chinese medicine, the medicine of indigenous cultures, and traditional Indian medicine. There is also a section on the history of individual diseases.

Independent Inquiry into Inequalities in Health
Chaired by Sir Donald Acheson. London, Stationery Office, 1998.

International Classification of Diseases (ICD)
ICD-10 is available at this WHO site.

Leading Health Indicators for Healthy People 2010: Final Report
Edited by Carole A. Chvala and Roger J. Bulger. Committee on Leading Health Indicators for Healthy people 2010, Division of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Institiute of Medicine. Washington, D.C., National Academy of Sciences 1999.

Measuring Health Performance in the Public Sector: A Summary of Two Reports
Panel on Performance Measures and Data for Public Health Performance Partnership Grants, National Research Council. Washington D.C., National Academy Press, 1999.

Milbank Memorial Fund Reports
Reports on a variety of health topics many with full text. Hard copies are available free of charge, and can be ordered online.

Mill Hill Essays
The Mill Hill Essays are published annually to promote the public understanding of Science. They were inspired by a series of BBC Radio lectures given by eminent scientists in the 1950s, and subsequently published as a book. They are written by members of staff of the National Institute for Medical Research and guest authors, and are designed to be accessible to anyone with an interest in science and the natural world.

New York Academy of Medicine - Library - Grey Literature Report
The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. If you don't know what grey literature is click here.

NLH - Public Health
Resources from the National Library for Public Health in the U.K.

Public Health Image Library
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.

Public Health Resources on the Internet
An extensive list of useful links from the School of Public Health of the Queensland University of Technology.

Reports of the Surgeon General
From the National Library of Medicine, the full text of the reports of the US Surgeon General.

Science.gov Health & Medicine
Science.gov is an interagency intiative of a number of U.S. government science organizations. It allows in depth searching of government scientific and technical information.

UC Berkeley. Public Health Library. Public Health Resources on the Internet
An extensive list of resources, subdivided by topics.

"Virtual" Public Health Center - Martindale's Health Science Guide
A well maintained site with annotated links to a wide range of material. Individual topic sections allow easy browsing.