I've divided this page into two sections. The first provides you with
some
tips on searching for material on Medline, and the second provides
links
to other Australian and overseas
web resources, including some full text material.
Searching Medline
Remember that Medline has a Thesaurus of terms - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), a controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in Medline. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information where authors may use different terminology for the same concepts.
You will find
material on weight problems and obesity in Medline, but you will need to be aware of
the
thesaurus (MeSH) terms used to search for the various topics. You can see these listed in the MeSH database.
MeSH - Body Mass Index
MeSH - Body Weight
MeSH - Body Weights and Measures
MeSH - Obesity
Many topics in MeSH have hierarchies of more specific subcategories or related terms. The indentations in the lists reflect
the
structure of the hierarchy, and the + signs at the end of terms
indicate
that there is a further hierarchy of terms not displayed here. Any of
these
terms can be searched individually, or you can "explode" terms to
search
sections of the list.
Try using the search structure below to search for articles on
exercise
and obesity.
COMBINE
Exercise (MeSH term)
Physical activity which is usually regular
and
done with the intention of improving or maintaining PHYSICAL FITNESS or
HEALTH. Contrast with EXERTION which is concerned largely with the
physiologic
and metabolic response to energy expenditure.
AND
Obesity (MeSH term)
Increase in body weight beyond skeletal and
physical
standards as the result of an excessive accumulation of fat in the
body.
PubMed Search Formulation
exercise[majr] AND obesity[majr] AND
english[lang]
This search strategy uses the headings exercise and obesity.
The section in the square brackets includes
majr
- which focuses the search on articles where the subject is
a major issue in the article. The search is then limited to articles
which
are in English or which have English abstracts.
PubMed's default setting is to "explode" all terms, and so
this search
will include all the subcategories of obesity listed below
Obesity
Obesity in Diabetes
Obesity, Morbid
Pickwickian Syndrome
Prader-Willi Syndrome
Click here to see how it works. PubMed
Search.
Remember that language is crucial when searching PubMed (or any other
database). Click on the link below to see how different the results are
when a term in the search is changed
exercise[majr]
AND body mass index[majr] AND
english[lang]
Australian Sources
Acting
on Australia's weight: a strategic plan for the prevention of
overweight
and obesity
Produced by the National Health and Medical Research Council, 1997.
Eat Well Be Active: Healthy Weight Strategy for South Australians 2006-2010
Adelaide, S.A. Department of Health, 2006.
The Economic Costs of Obesity
Access Economics was commissioned by Diabetes Australia to estimate the economic cost of obesity in 2005. Obesity is defined in terms of BMI over 30. Their report was published in October 2006.
eMJA
Articles
on Obesity
A collection of articles on obesity from the Medical Journal of
Australia.
Health Report - Obesity
Transcripts from Radio National's Health Report, with Norman Swan.
Health,
Wellbeing and Body Weight: Characteristics of Overweight and Obesity in
Australia, 2001
(AIHW Bulletin, No. 13.) Canberra, Australian Institute of Health
and Welfare, 2004.
Healthy
Weight
Resources on weight and associated issues from the Commonwealth
Department
of Health and Ageing.
Lipid
Management
Policies, information sheets, guidelines and other professional
resources developed by the Heart Foundation.
Obesity Guidelines
The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) in conjunction with Population Health Division of the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing has developed clinical practice guidelines for doctors on the management of overweight and obesity in children, adolescents and adults.
Overweight and obesity (AIHW)
Resources from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Overweight & Obesity - ASSO
Links to publications from the Australasian Society for the Study of
Obesity.
Report
on the Weight Status of NSW: 2003
New South Wales Centre for Public Health Nutrition.
A Weighty Issue:
The Status of Overweight and Obesity in South Australians from 1991 to
2001
By Tiffany Gill and others. South Australia, Department of Human
Services, Population Research and Outcome Studies Unit, Strategic
Planning and Research Branch, May 2004.
Overseas Sources
Aim for a Healthy Weight Booklet, NHLBI
From the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute in the United States.
bmj.com
Collected
Resources : Obesity
Calories
Count
From the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Center for Food Safety and
Applied
Nutrition. The FDA Obesity Working Group Report and Related Information.
The Challenge of Obesity in the WHO European Region and the Strategies for Response: Summary
Edited by Francesco Branca, Haik Nikogosian and Tim Lobstein. World Health Organization, 2007.
Childhood Obesity
A page of resources from the American Obesity Association.
Childhood
Obesity: Causes and Prevention
Symposium proceedings, October 27, 1998. Sponsored by the Center for
Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture.
Childhood obesity: Screening and prevention
INSERM Collective Expert Evaluation Report, 2001. Inserm (Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale) is the only French public organization entirely dedicated to biological, medical and public health research.
Clinical
Guidelines on the Identification, Evaluation, and Treatment of
Overweight
and Obesity in Adults.
The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, in cooperation with
the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases,
released
the first Federal guidelines on the identification, evaluation, and
treatment
of overweight and obesity. A number of publications associated with the
guidelines are available from this site, including the Obesity
Education Initiative Electronic Textbook
eCMAJ --
Collected Resources : Obesity
The
Economics of Obesity: A Report on the Workshop Held at USDA's Economic
Research Service
By Tomas Philipson, Carolanne Dai, Lorens Helmchen, and Jayachandran
Variyam.,
May 2004.
Environmental
interventions to reduce energy intake or density
A critical appraisal of the literature, by Phil Hider.
NZHTA
Report, January 2001 Volume 4 Number 2.
Fed Up! Winning
the War Against Childhood Obesity
By Susan Oakie. Washington D.C., Joseph Henry Press, 2005.
Food Marketing to Children and Youth: Threat or Opportunity?
J. Michael McGinnis, Jennifer Appleton Gootman, and Vivica I. Kraak, Editors. Washington, D.C., National Academies Press, 2006
From
Wallet to Waistline: The Hidden Costs of "Super Sizing"
Produced by the National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity (NANA)
in June 2002 this document reveals the hidden calorie costs of
supersizing
of fast food.. The National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity (NANA)
is a coalition of over 225 national, state, and local organizations
working
together to increase understanding of the importance of nutrition and
physical
activity to health, well-being and health-care costs and to advocate
for
policies and environmental changes that promote healthy eating and
physical
activity.
INTERNATIONAL OBESITY TASK FORCE
Links to a number of publications on obesity and its management.
Management
of
Obesity in Children and Young People
A National Clinical Guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines
Network (SIGN), April 2003. (Clinical Guideline No. 69)
MEDLINEplus:
Obesity
MEDLINEplus:
Obesity in Children
MEDLINEplus:
Weight Loss/Dieting
MEDLINEplus:
Weight Loss Surgery
MEDLINEplus is the National Library of Medicine's consumer health
information
portal. Lists of links are evaluated/reviewed/quality-filtered.
NIDDK
:
Health Information : Weight Loss and Control
From the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney
Diseases
in the U.S.
Obesity
among children under 11
Dhriti Jotangia, Alison Moody, Emmanuel Stamatakis and Heather Wardle.
Prepared for Department of Health, in collaboration with the Health and
Social Care Information Centre April 2005. This report presents
information for 1995 to 2003 on obesity among children aged under 11
living in England.
Obesity
and Genetics: A Public Health Perspective
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Office of
Genomics and Disease Prevention in the U.S. this site has links to both
text and video on many aspects of obesity.
Obesity Gene Map Database
This is the expanded electronic version of the Human Obesity Gene Map. The project to review annually all markers, genes and mutations associated or linked with obesity phenotypes was developed when Dr Claude Bouchard was on the faculty at Universite Laval in Quebec City, Canada. Drs. Louis Pérusse and Yvon C. Chagnon were the early collaborators on this project.
Overweight
and Obesity
A collection of resources from Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention
in the U.S.
Preventing
Childhood Obesity
A report from the British Medical Association, June 2005.
Preventing
Childhood Obesity: Health in the Balance
Jeffrey P. Koplan, Catharyn T. Liverman, and Vivica A. Kraak, Editors,
Committee on Prevention of Obesity in Children and Youth. Washington
D.C., National Academies Press, 2005.
Progress in Preventing Childhood Obesity: How Do We Measure Up?
Committee on Progress in Preventing Childhood Obesity, Food and Nutrition Board, Institute of Medicine. Washington D.C., National Academies Press, 2006.
Surgeon
General's Call to Action to Prevent and Decrease Overweight and Obesity
The Surgeon General's call to action to prevent and decrease overweight
and obesity / Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion;
Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institutes of Health.
Rockville,
MD: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service,
Office
of the Surgeon General; Washington, D.C., 2001.
Tackling Child Obesity - First Steps
A Report by the Comptroller and Auditor General. London : Stationery Office, 2006.
Weight
Control
and Obesity Topic Page (Food & Nutrition Information Center)
The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is located at the
National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the U.S. Department of
Agriculture
(USDA) and the Agricultural Research Service (ARS).
What is known about the effectiveness of economic instruments to reduce consumption of foods high in saturated fats and other energy-dense foods for preventing and treating obesity?
Health Evidence Network (HEN), World Health Organization Regional Office for Europ, July 2006.
WIN - The
Weight-control Information Network
WIN is an information service of the National Institute of Diabetes and
Digestive and Kidney Diseases, in the United States. It provides the
general public, health professionals, the media, and Congress with
up-to-date, science-based information on weight control, obesity,
physical activity, and related nutritional issues.
|