University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home > Subjects G - Z > Public Health

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Occupational Health and Safety (Including Accident Prevention)

Last update: 22 April 2008,
by Maureen Bell



OTHER HEALTH TOPICS

Aboriginal and Other Indigenous People's Health

Aged Health

Bioethics

Cancer

Cardiovascular Disease

Child and Adolescent Health

Complementary Medicine

Consumer Health Information

Databases Available to University of Adelaide Staff and Students

Diabetes

Dictionaries

Environmental Health

Epidemiology

Ethnic and Minority Groups

Evidence-Based Medicine

Exercise and Fitness

General Health Sites

Health Issues in Developing Countries

Health Promotion

Immunisation

Infectious Diseases

Legislation

Nutrition

Obesity

Occupational Health and Safety

Qualitative Research

Rural Health

Smoking and Health

Women's Health

I've divided this page into three sections. The first provides you with some tips on searching for material on Medline, the second describes additional databases of which you should be aware, while the third section provides links to web pages, reports, and other databases. This section is divided into Australian and overseas sources.

Searching Medline

Remember that Medline has a Thesaurus of terms - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), a controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in Medline. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information where authors may use different terminology for the same concepts.

You will find material on this subject in Medline, but you will need to be aware of the thesaurus (MeSH) terms used to search for the various topics.

MeSH - Accidents, Occupational

MeSH - Air Pollutants, Occu;pational

MeSH - Metals, Heavy

MeSH - Occupational Diseases

MeSH - Occupational Exposure

MeSH - Occupational Health

MeSH - Occupational Health Services

Many topics in MeSH have hierarchies of more specific subcategories or related terms. The indentations in the lists reflect the structure of the hierarchy, and the + signs at the end of terms indicate that there is a further hierarchy of terms not displayed here. Any of these terms can be searched individually, or you can "explode" terms to search sections of the list.

When you search for subjects using MeSH terms from the Medline thesaurus you will also have the option of appending subheadings to narrow the focus of your search.

For a list of the abbreviations used for subheadings in PubMed click here

Try using the search structure below for finding articles on occupational exposure and lead.

COMBINE

Occupational Exposure (MeSH Term)

AND

Lead (MeSH Term)

PubMed Search Formulation

occupational exposure[majr] AND lead[majr] AND english[lang]

This search strategy uses the headings occupational exposure and lead. The section in the square brackets includes majr - which focuses the search on articles where the subject is a major issue in the article. The search is then limited to articles which are in English or which have English abstracts.

PubMed's default setting is to "explode" all terms, and so this search will include all the subcategories of occupational exposure listed below

Maximum Allowable Concentration
Threshold Limit Values

Click here to see how it works. PubMed Search

Additional Databases Which You Should Use

The University of Adelaide has a subscription to the OSHROM bibliographic database, made available via a grant from WorkCover. You will need to contact your academic department for details of username and password.
The WEBSPIRS ERL can search the following databases:

Croner OSH Plus Online Part A
Croner OSH Plus Online Part B
Croner OSH Plus Online Part C
Croner OSH Plus Online Part D
Croner OSH Plus Online Part E
Case Law & Selwyn's Commentary
Newly Archived OSH Plus Online
Croner OSH Plus Online Archive
OSH-ROM: HSELINE
OSH-ROM: MHIDAS
OSH-ROM: RILOSH
OSH-ROM: CISDOC
OSH-ROM: NIOSHTIC2
OSH-ROM: OSHLINE
OSH-ROM: MEDLINE OEM Subset 2002-
OSH-ROM: MEDLINE OEM Subset 1992-2001
OSH-ROM: MEDLINE OEM Subset 1960-1991

NIOSHTIC-2 (Free version)
A free bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by the National Institute.

CISDOC (Free version)
CISDOC is the fruit of 30 years of screening the occupational safety and health literature of the world for interesting and useful books, articles and audiovisual materials that occupational safety and health specialists can use in their fight against workplace accidents and diseases. It already guides users to over 62,000 publications, and 2000 more references are added every year.

ILO Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety
Now in its fourth edition, the Encyclopaedia is a unique and widely respected reference. Its 1000 articles and copious illustrations have been available on paper, CD-ROM and the World Wide Web since 1998. But always at a price. Responding to calls from International Labour Conference Delegates and the ILO Governing Body to provide free access to more resources, the InFocus Programme on Safety and Health at Work and the Environment (SafeWork) has now made the Encyclopaedia the centrepiece of its "SafeWork Bookshelf", which presently also includes the ILO/WHO/UNEP International Chemical Safety Cards.

There is a PubMed Toxicology Subset the strategy for which can easily be appended to any search, and you should also be aware that the National Library of Medicine provides a Specialized Information Service ( Environmental Health and Toxicology SIS Specialized Information Services ) which allows access to a range of toxicology and environmental health databases. Of particular interest is Toxnet, a collection of databases on hazardous chemicals, toxic releases, and environmental health, for which there is a downloadable manual.

Australian Sources

Australian Occupational Health and Safety Index
From the National Occupational Health and Safety Commission (NOHSC), the Australian Occupational Health and Safety Index is a catalogue of Practical Guidance Material and Safety Alerts listed on Australian OHS Authorities websites.

Australian Safety and Compensation Council - Publications

CASR Road Safety Library
This is the specialist library of the Centre for Automotive Safety Research of the University of Adelaide.

Comcare Occupational Health and Safety
A collection of material from Comcare, including fact sheets and the full text of a number of handbooks.

Hazardous Substance Information System
From the National Occupational Health and Safety Commission, the HSIS provides access to two data sets, one for hazardous substance information and the other for exposure standard information. The data for substances that are common to both data sets are linked. Both data sets can be searched using a range of search criteria. Search results (including the full data sets) can be printed or saved electronically.

Injury Prevention Publications
This page lists injury prevention publications from the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing.

Occupational Health in the Oil Industry: The Health Watch Study
Since 1980, the Australian Institute of Petroleum (AIP) has commissioned the development and operation of an independent epidemiology program called Health Watch. The full text of recent reports is available on this page.

Publication List - Injuries(AIHW)
From the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.

Research Centre for Injury Studies. Index of Resources On Line
The Research Centre for Injury Studies (incorporating the AIHW National Injury Surveillance Unit) is located at Flinders University There is a large selection of documents and data sets in full text available at this site.

WorkCover Corporation SA: Legislation and Publications
Includes the full text of the Workplace Health and Safety Handbook.

Overseas Sources

Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens - TSE Agents
Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens Spongiform Encephalopathy Advisory Committe. Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathy Agents: Safe Working and the Prevention of Infection. London, The Stationery Office, 1998.

Asbestos: Selected Cancers
Committee on Asbestos: Selected Health Effects, Board on Population Health and Public Health Practices, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. Washington, D.C., National Academies Press, 2006.

A-Z index of key pages and documents on the HSE website
From each topic, you can access all of the important documents available on the Health & Safety Executive website in the U.K.

bmj.com Collected Resources : Occupational Health

eCMAJ -- Collected Resources : Occupational Health

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. Information on Anthrax
Links to a range of Canadian and United States sources of information on handling anthrax threats in the work environment.

eLCOSH - Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health
The Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health was developed by the Center to Protect Workers' Rights (CPWR) with support from grant CCU317202 from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). This site provides a wide range of materials on construction safety and health. The goal is to improve safety and health for construction workers by making such information easier to obtain than in the past.

European Office for Safety and Health at Work. Publications
Free full text of a wide range of reports and factsheets.

Hardin MD : Occupational Health and Safety
Lists web directories for occupational health and safety.

Health and Safety Needs of Older Workers
David H. Wegman and James P. McGee, Editors, Committee on the Health and Safety Needs of Older Workers, National Research Council. Washington, D.C., National Academies Press, 2004.

Household Products Database: Health and Safety Information on Household Products
A useful site from the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine in the United States. There is information about products, ingredients, and material safety data sheets.

IPCS INCHEM
Produced through cooperation between the International Programme on Chemical Safety (IPCS) and the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), IPCS INCHEM offers quick and easy electronic access to thousands of searchable full-text documents on chemical risks and the sound management of chemicals.

IPCS INTOX
IPCS INTOX is a tool for poison centres and related units concerned with preventing, recording, evaluation, diagnosing, treating and reporting on chemical emergencies.

Material Safety Data Sheets
From Cornell University's Planning, Design & Construction Department. The files are derived from the CD-ROM version of the U.S. Government Department of Defense MSDS database, a mirror of some of the information maintained at The Vermont SIRI Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) collection. MSDS sheets maintained by Cornell University Environmental Health and Safety and other Cornell departments.

NASD: National Ag Safety Database
NASD is a U.S. national central repository of agricultural health, safety, and injury prevention materials for the agricultural community and especially for agricultural safety specialists.

Occupational Health Research Resource Center
The Occupational Health Resource Center provides SYSTOC (the first commercially successful occupational health software for personal computers) information systems, training, consulting and technical support to a network of occupational health providers.

OSH Answers
This free information service is provided by the Inquiries Service at the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety.

OSHA Publications and Posters
From the Occupational Safety & Health Administration in the United States. Many of the publications are available online.

OSH.NET Occupational Safety and Health Net
OSH.NET is made available by Occupational Safety and Health Resources. Its goal is to be one of the most comprehensive resources for Occupational Safety and Health information available on the internet.

OSHWEB
OshWeb provides links to, reviews of and comments on websites in the Occupational Safety and Health sector.

SafetyLine Institute
The SafetyLine Institute falls within the province of the Department of Consumer and Employment Protection (DOCEP) in Western Australia, and provides learning guides and associated readings and resources to help learners at workplaces develop competencies in key units of the new national occupational health and safety qualifications. Enrolling in the Institute for general inerest study ia free, and there are self assessment tests with each lecture.

Science.gov topic Occupational Health and Safety
Science.gov provides wide public access and a unified search of the U.S. government’s vast stores of scientific and technical information. It is an interagency initiative of a number of U.S. government science organizations.

Where to find MSDS on the Internet
An extensive and well organised list of links to material safety data sheets.

Whitehall II
This is the second Whitehall Study (also referred to as The Stress and Health Study). The Whitehall II study has taken a particular interest in the role of stress on health and the extent to which this might be involved in the social inequalities in health – like the differences with employment grades in the Civil Service. It looks at both stress at work, for example having low control over your work & how it is organised, and psychosocial factors at home such as support from family & friends and social activities.

Work Related Stress
Resources from the Health and Safety Executive in the U.K.