I've divided this page into three sections. The first provides you with
some tips on searching for material on Medline, and the second provides
links
to other Australian and overseas web resources, including some full text material.
Searching Medline
Remember that Medline has a Thesaurus of terms - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), a controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in Medline. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information where authors may use different terminology for the same concepts.
You will find material on this subject in Medline, but you will need to be aware of the thesaurus (MeSH) terms used to search for the various topics. The term cardiovascular disease has an extensive number of more specific terms associated with it, and you can see these listed in the MeSH database.
MeSH - Nicotine
MeSH - Smoking
MeSH - Smoking Cessation
MeSH - Tobacco Industry
MeSH - Tobacco Smoke Pollution
MeSH - Tobacco Use Disorder
Many topics in MeSH have hierarchies of more specific subcategories or related terms. The indentations in the lists reflect the structure of the hierarchy, and the + signs at the end of terms indicate that there is a further hierarchy of terms not displayed here. Any of these terms can be searched individually, or you can "explode" terms to search sections of the list.
When you search for subjects using MeSH terms from the Medline thesaurus you will also have the option of appending subheadings to narrow the focus of your search.
For a list of the abbreviations used for subheadings in PubMed click here
Try the following search strategy to find articles on mortality and smoking.
PubMed Search Formulation
smoking/mo[majr:noexp] AND english[lang]
The search strategy above uses the subheading mortality "mo"associated
with smoking. The section in the square brackets includes majr -
which focuses the search on articles where the subject is a major issue
in the article, and noexp - which stops
the "explosion" of the term and avoids retrieval of articles on
marijuana
smoking. The search is then limited to articles in English or with
English
abstracts.
Click here to see how it works. PubMed
Search.
Australian Sources
Australia's National Tobacco Campaign: Evaluation report volume one: Every cigarette is doing you damage
Prepared by the Research and Evaluation Committee of the National Expert Advisory Committee on Tobacco. Commonwealth Department of Health and Aged Care,
May 1999.
Australia's National Tobacco Campaign: Evaluation report volume two: Every cigarette is doing you damage
Commonwealth Department of Health and Aged Care, May 2000.
Australia's National Tobacco Campaign: Evaluation report volume three: Every cigarette is doing you damage
Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing, 2004.
National Drug Strategy - National Tobacco Strategy Publications
Smoking cessation interventions: Review of evidence and implications for best practice in health care settings
The review collates and synthesises, according to National Health and Medical Research Council standards, the available evidence on the effectiveness and potential public health benefit of smoking interventions delivered by health professionals, including the relative effectiveness of the different methods available.
Tobacco Control Super Site
This site is maintained by Simon Chapman, associate professor of public health in the Department of Public Health and Community Medicine, University of Sydney.
Tobacco Resources
From the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing site, this page contains a list of tobacco related links and tobacco related material.
Overseas Sources
Additional Links on
ASH's Web
Site
ASH (Action on Smoking and Health) is a large anti-smoking
organisation.
This is a useful list of links from their site.
American Lung
Association
-- Tobacco Control -- Quitting Smoking Index
bmj.com
Collected Resources
: Smoking
A collection of articles on this subject from the BMJ.
Buying
Influence, Selling Death: How Big Tobacco's Campaign Contributions Harm
Public Health
A Report by Common Cause, The Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, The
American
Heart Association And The American Lung Association, March 14, 2001.
Clearing the
Smoke:
Assessing the Science Base for Tobacco Harm Reduction
Clearing the smoke: assessing the science base for tobacco harm
reduction
/ Kathleen Stratton ... [et al.], editors, Committee to Assess the
Science
Base for Tobacco Harm Reduction, Board on Health Promotion and Disease
Prevention, Institute of Medicine. National Academy Press, 2000.
Cochrane
Tobacco
Addiction Review Group
Coffin Nails: The
Tobacco
Controversy in the 19th Century
HarpWeek has compiled this 50-plus year history of tobacco controversy
and criticism as shown in the editorials, articles, news briefs,
cartoons,
illustrations, poetry, and advertisements of Harper’s Weekly.
Economics of
Tobacco Control
From the World Bank, this web site on the economics of tobacco control
provides information, analyses, reviews and links to help researchers
and
policymakers and to assist governments to choose and implement
effective
tobacco control measures.
Health
Care Information
Resources -- Smoking Links
Some useful links (with a Canadian focus) from McMaster University
Health Sciences Library.
The
Health Consequences of Smoking: A Report of the Surgeon General 2004
The full report is available here with accompanying documentation and a
database on the health consequences of smoking.
Help for
Smokers:
Ideas to Help You Quit
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality in the United
States.
Legacy Tobacco
Documents
Library
From the University of California, San Francisco, and online library
of over 20 million documents, which relate to scientific research,
manufacturing,
marketing, advertising and sales of cigarettes, among other topics,
generally
dating from the 1950's to recent years.
N
C H S - FASTATS - Smoking
From the National Center for Health Statistics in the United States.
QuitNet - A Free Resource To
Quit Smoking
A joint project of Join Together, a program of the Boston University
School of Public Health, and the Massachusetts Tobacco Control Program.
Report
of the Scientific Committee on Tobacco and Health
London, The Stationery Office, 1998.
Smoking and public health (evidence briefing)
From NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence) in the U.K., May 2004.
Smoking
Kills: A White Paper on Tobacco
London, The Stationery Office, 1998.
Surgeon
General's Reports
Related to Tobacco
Over the years a number of reports have been produced on smoking and
related issues by the Office of the Surgeon General in the United
States.
TIPS - CDC's Tobacco
Information
and Prevention Source
From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health
Promotion in the United States.
Tobacco Control
Archives
Sponsored by UCSF Library & Center for Knowledge Management,
Department
of Archives & Special Collections, the Tobacco Control Archives
purpose
is to collect, preserve, and provide access to papers, unpublished
documents
and electronic resources relevant to tobacco control issues primarily
in
California. However there are links to some international resources as
well.
Tobacco
Free
Initiative Geneva Hearings : An Introduction to the WHO enquiry on
tobacco
industry influence
Tobacco Use Behavior
Research,
Cancer Prevention and Control Program, UCSD
From the University of California at San Diego, this site contains
reports and data relating to tobacco use in California.
TobaccoPedia - The
Online Tobacco
Encyclopedia
From UICC GLOBALink, the International Tobacco Control Network.
UW-Center for Tobacco
Research and Intervention
Resources from the University of Wisconsin Medical School.
WHO: The Tobacco Atlas
Produced by the World Health Organization in 2002, as part of the Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI).
|