University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home > Subjects G - Z > Public Health

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Women's Health

Last update: 15 October 2006,
by Maureen Bell

OTHER HEALTH TOPICS

Aboriginal and Other Indigenous People's Health

Adolescent Health

Aged Health

Bioethics

Cancer

Cardiovascular Disease

Complementary Medicine

Consumer Health Information

Databases Available to University of Adelaide Staff and Students

Diabetes

Dictionaries

Environmental Health

Epidemiology

Ethnic and Minority Groups

Evidence-Based Medicine

Exercise and Fitness

General Health Sites

Health Issues in Developing Countries

Health Promotion

Immunisation

Infectious Diseases

Legislation

Nutrition

Obesity

Occupational Health and Safety

Qualitative Research

Rural Health

Smoking and Health

Women's Health

I've divided this page into two sections. The first provides you with some tips on searching for material on Medline, and the second provides links to other Australian and overseas web resources, including some full text report and journal literature.

Searching Medline

Remember that Medline has a Thesaurus of terms - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), a controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in Medline. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information where authors may use different terminology for the same concepts.

There are certain areas of reproductive health and illness which are obviously restricted to women, but I want to deal here with other health issues for women, where searching Medline is more complex.

Below are some examples of the language Medline uses to describe the concepts in this field.

MeSH - Female
This thesaurus term is also called a check tag. Further down the page I have included an example of how it may be used in a search. Check tags used by Medline are listed below. These check tags must be enetered by an indexer for every journal article citation to which they apply

Animal
Case Report
Comparative Study
English Abstract
Female
Human
In Vitro
Male
Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
Support, U.S. Gov't, Non-P.H.S.
Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.

MeSH - Maternal Health Services

MeSH - Women
Human adult females as cultural, psychological, sociological, political, and economic entities. More specific subcategories are:

Battered Women
Dentists, Women
Physicians, Women
Women, Working

MeSH - Women's Health

MeSH - Women's Health Services

MeSH - Women's Rights

Many topics in MeSH have hierarchies of more specific subcategories or related terms. The indentations in the lists reflect the structure of the hierarchy, and the + signs at the end of terms indicate that there is a further hierarchy of terms not displayed here. Any of these terms can be searched individually, or you can "explode" terms to search sections of the list.

Try using the search structure below to search for articles on cardiovascular disease in women

COMBINE

Cardiovascular Disease (MeSH term)

AND

Female (MeSH term)

NOT

Male (MeSH term)

PubMed Search Formulation

cardiovascular disease[majr:noexp] AND female[mh] NOT male[mh] AND english[lang]

This search strategy uses the headings cardiovascular disease, female, and male. The section in the square brackets includes majr - which focuses the search on articles where the subject is a major issue in the article. PubMed's default is to "explode" all terms, and as I don't want articles on specific types of cardiovascular disease, but only on cardiovascular disease generally I've added noexp to stop the explosion. The next part of the strategy specifies that the search should apply to females and not males, as only articles which refer to women are wanted NOT articles which refer to both men and women. The search is then limited to articles which are in English or which have English abstracts.

Click here to see how it works. PubMed Search.

This search would have dramatically different results if the thesaurus term "women" was substituted for "female"

cardiovascular disease[majr:noexp] AND women[mh] NOT male[mh] AND english[lang]

Click here to see how it works. PubMed Search.

Australian Sources

Health Report - Women's Health
Transcripts from Radio National's Health Report, with Norman Swan.

National Health and Medical Research Council. Publications. Women's Health
The full text of many publications is available online in .pdf format.

Perinatal Health List (AIHW)
Full text is available for most publications.

Publications by topic - Women's health
From the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing

Women's Health Australia
Women's Health Australia is part of the Research Institute for Gender and Health at the University of Newcastle. The Australian Longitudinal Study on Women's Health is designed to follow women for up to 20 years and will address serious gaps in knowledge about women's health.

Overseas Sources

bmj.com Collected Resources : Other Women's health - other

CDC Health Topic: Women's Health
A collection of resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the United States.

Confidential Enquiry into Maternal and Child Health (CEMACH). Publications
CEMACH is a self governing body managed by its own board with members nominated by six Royal Colleges in the U.K.

Ending Violence Against Women, Population Reports, Series L, Number 11
Heise, L., Ellsberg, M. and Gottemoeller, M. Ending Violence Against Women. Population Reports, Series L, No. 11. Baltimore, Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health, Population Information Program, December 1999.

Full Report of the Prevalence, Incidence, and Consequences of Violence Against Women...
By Patricia Tjaden, and Nancy Thoennes, this research report contains findings from the National Violence Against Women Survey. Washington, D.C., Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, November 2000.

Girl and Adolescent Health
The U.S.Department of health and Human Services' Office on Women's health includes a page for girls and adolescents. it has links to a number of specialist pages such as the Girl Power! Campaign , 4Girls -- Health Information for Girls. , and Powerful Bones. Powerful Girls. The National Bone Health Campaign.

Global Reproductive Health Forum: Maternal Health
This web site is maintained by the Harvard School of Public Health. It includes mailing lists, Web sites, and electronic publications.

Hardin MD : Womens Health & Gynecology (ObGyn)
Links to web directories that list resources in this area.

Health Care Information Resources -- Women's Health Problems Links
A useful collection of links from the Health Sciences Library at McMaster University.

Health Concerns Across a Woman's Life span: CMWF 1998 Survey of Women's Health
Published by the Commonwealth Fund this report, based on the research findings of a recent survey on women's health, highlights key findings derived from survey questions that examined "access to care, health knowledge, health-related behaviors, violence, depression, use of hormone replacement therapy, and informal caregiving roles." The full report is available as a .pdf file as are the accompanying charts

Health Information for Minority Women
A special section of the National Women's Health Information Center web site.

In Her Lifetime: Female Morbidity and Mortality in Sub-Saharan Africa
Christopher P. Howson, Polly F. Harrison, and Maureen Law Editors; Committee to Study Female Morbidity and Mortality in SubSaharan Africa, Institute of Medicine. Washington D.C., National Academy Press, 1996.

In Her Own Right: The Institute of Medicine's Guide to Women's Health Issues
By Beryl Lieff Benderly for the Institute of Medicine. Washington D.C., National Academy Press, 1997.

MedlinePlus: Women's Health Issues

MedlinePlus: Women's Health Topics
MEDLINEplus is the National Library of Medicine's consumer health information portal. Lists of links are evaluated/reviewed/quality-filtered.

Men's Health
I know this seems an anomaly, but it's the National Women's Health Information Center section on men's health.

National Women's Health Information Center
The National Women's Health Information Center is a service of the U.S. Public Health Service’s Office on Women’s Health. The NWHIC provides a gateway to the vast array of Federal and other women’s health information resources.

A New Agenda for Women's Health and Nutrition
Washington, D.C., World Bank, 1994 (reprinted 1997)

Powerful Bones. Powerful Girls. The National Bone Health Campaign.

Quality of Care for Women
Quality of Care for Women: A Review of Selected Clinical Conditions and Quality Indicators. Elizabeth A. McGlynn, Eve A. Kerr, Cheryl L. Damberg, and Stephen M. Asch Editors. A RAND research publication. MR-1284-HCFA, 2000.

Reproductive Health Gateway
RH Gateway is a project of the Health Information Publications Network (HIPnet). It is
managed by the Johns Hopkins University/Center for Communication Programs (JHU/CCP).

ReproLine(r): Reproductive Health Online -- family planning, training, contraception, mastery learning website
ReproLine was developed by JHPIEGO, an affiliate of Johns Hopkins University. JHPIEGO, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the health of women and families throughout the world, works to increase the number of qualified health professionals trained in modern reproductive healthcare, especially family planning.

Safety of Silicone Breast Implants
Stuart Bondurant, Virginia Ernster, and Roger Herdman, Editors; Committee on the Safety of Silicone Breast Implants, Institute of Medicine. Washington D.C., National Academy Press, 2000.
There is also a second publication, the aim of which is to make the information contained in the report listed above available to women who have, or who are considering, breast implants. Information for Women about the Safety of Silicone Breast Implants

The Unmet Need for Contraception in Developing Countries
This is a RAND policy brief.

Women and Health Research: Ethical and Legal Issues of Including Women in Clinical Studies. Vol 1 and Women and Health Research: Ethical and Legal Issues of Including Women in Clinical Studies. Vol 2, Workshop and Commissioned Papers
Anna C. Mastroianni, Ruth Faden, and Daniel Federman, Editors; Committee on Ethical and Legal Issues Relating to the Inclusion of Women in Clinical Studies, Institute of Medicine. Washington D.C., National Academy Press, 1994

Women of Color Health Data Book
This book is a publication of the Office of Research on Women’s Health which addresses specifically, the role of culture, ethnicity, race, socioeconomic background, geographic location, and other social and economic factors as important contributors to the health status of coloured women in the United States. It was prepared by Wihelmina A. Leigh, Ph.D. (Senior Research Associate) and Malinda A. Lindquist (Research Assistant) of the Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies.

Women with Disabilities
From the National Women's Health Information Center in the U.S.

Women's health (Bandolier Library)
Bandolier is a print and Internet journal about health care, using evidence-based medicine techniques to provide advice about particular treatments or diseases for healthcare professionals and consumers.

Women's Health Resources and Related Internet Links - Canadian Women's Health Network
A useful set of annotated links from the Canadian Women's Health Network.

Women's Health Specialist Library
One of a collection of specialist libraries for the National electronic Library for Health (NeLH) in the U.K.

Women's Health Surveillance: A Plan of Action for Health Canada; A Report from the Advisory Committee on Women's Health Surveillance
Produced by Health Canada, 1999.

Women's Human Rights Resources
I've included this link as the site has a database of resources including documents relating to women's health issues.