University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home> Resource guides > Chemistry resources

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie
(Handbook of organic chemistry)
Main collection 547 B42.4

The following notes are intended as a shortcut to using the Library's incomplete set of Beilstein. To learn to use Beilstein fully, read the guide "How to use Beilstein" shelved at the end of the set of Beilstein volumes.

Content and arrangement

Beilstein is a comprehensive collection of data on organic compounds up to 1959 and occasionally later. The text and indexes are in German. Beilstein has the following series, each consisting of up to 27 volumes (Band). The Library has the volumes indicated.

H -- Main series (Hauptwerk) - to 1909 -- v1-27
EI -- Supplement 1 ( Erstes Erganzungswerk) - 1910-1919 -- v1-27
EII -- Supplement 2 (Zweites Erganzungswerk) -1920-1929 -- v1-27
EIII -- Supplement 3 (Drittes Erganzungswerk) - 1930-49 -- v1-16
EIII/IV -- Supp 3/4 (Drittes/Viertes Erganzungswerk) - 1930-59 -- v17-27
EIV -- Supplement 4 (Viertes Erganzungswerk) --1950-59 -- v 1-6
H-EIV -- Gesamtregister (Cumulative index) to vols 1 to 5, 17-27

Data on substances can be found using either the indexes or the Beilstein system.

Using the Beilstein indexes

  • Start with the formula index in EII which covers H, EI and EII i.e. to 1929.
    Vol 28 = subject index (sachregister)
    Vol 29 = formula index (formelregister)

    Formula index example:

    C8H10O2S Athylphenylsulfon 6, 297, I 143, II 288.

    refers to volume 6 page 297 in H,
    volume 6 page 143 in EI,
    volume 6 page 288 in EII. These entries cover data up to 1929.

  • If the substance is in the EII formula index, use the Beilstein system number to get data later than 1929.

    There is a system number (Syst Nr) at the top of the page - in this example 524.

    Look up volume 6 system number 524 in the later supplements EIII or EIV.

    The same volume and system number are always used in different supplements for a given substance so having found the substance in one supplement you can easily find it in others.

  • If a substance is not in the EII formula index, try indexes in the later supplements.


    This can be time consuming. Reduce the number of volume indexes to check by deciding whether the main component of your substance is

    acyclic (covered by volumes 1-4),
    isocyclic (covered by volumes 5-16) or
    heterocyclic (covered by volumes 17-27).

    Then use the most convenient volume indexes:
    Acyclic --
    Gesamtregister vols 1-4
    Isocyclic --
    volume 5 -- Gesamtregister vol 5
    volume 6 -- EIV index in vol 6 part 9
    volumes 7-16 -- EIII single or combined indexes covering volumes 7-8, 9-10, vol 11, vol 12-14, vol 15, vol 16
    Heterocyclic -- volumes 17-27 -- Gesamtregister

    Indexes usually refer to a volume number, supplement number and page number
    e.g. 20 IV 1041 is EIV volume 20 page 1041.

Beilstein data

The text and substance names in the indexes are in German. The easiest way to scan for the required substance on its page is by formula.

F= Schmeltzpunkt (melting point), Kp= Siedepunkt (boiling point), B. = Bildung (preparation).

Lists of common abbreviations and journal abbreviations are given in the front of EIV volumes.

The Beilstein Dictionary: German-English, covering terms used frequently in Beilstein, is at the end of the Beilstein volumes and on the Beilstein WWW server. German chemistry and science dictionaries are in the Reference collection at 660.03 G878d, 540.3 E71, 503 D51g.4, 503 D696.2 .

Using the Beilstein System

If you want to avoid checking a large number of indexes, you need to learn the Beilstein principles for assigning substances to particular volumes. See the "How to use Beilstein guide" section 2.2.