University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home> Resource guides > Chemistry resources

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Inorganic and coordination compounds

These Web and Library sources cover the properties and reactions of inorganic and coordination compounds and the elements. See also other data sections of Chemistry resources.

Gmelin Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie. 8th ed. 1929-1994
Main collection 546 G569
Online table of contents, Springer catalog scanned by University at Buffalo, State University of New York.
Gmelin is the major comprehensive handbook for inorganic compounds and organometallic compounds. Earlier volumes are in German, later volumes in English. The library discontinued its subscription to the series in 1994. Each element has a set of volumes identified by a Gmelin system number and containing information on the element and its compounds. See Guide to Gmelin.

Dictionary of inorganic compounds.Chapman and Hall, 1992. 5 vols.
Reference collection 546.03 M152d
A major handbook of basic data and references on inorganic compounds including coordination compounds. Gives names, formula, formula weight, structure, melting point, boiling point, and occasionally spectroscopic and thermodynamic data. Other data can be found through the references cited for each substance. Has an element index, subarranged by formula; a structural type index; a name index; a registry number index.

Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry. Ed. R.B. King. Wiley, 1994. 8 vols.
Reference collection 546.03 K54e
Contains long articles on key topics as well as short explanations of terms. Covers inorganic chemistry including bioinorganic chemistry, organometallic chemistry and solid state chemistry. Useful for descriptions and reviews of concepts, techniques or classes of substance rather than specific substance data. Has extensive references to key review articles. Volume 1 has a contents list for all volumes. Volume 8 contains a subject index.

Comprehensive inorganic chemistry. Pergamon Press, 1973. 5 vols.
Main collection 546 C737
Covers physical and chemical properties of elements and inorganic compounds with extensive lists of references. Volumes are:
H, Noble gases, Group IA, Group IIA, Group IIIB, C, and Si
Ge, Sn, Pb, Group VB, Group VIB, Group VIIB
Group IB, Group IIB, Group IIIA, Group IVA, Group VA, Group VIA, Group VIIA, Group VIII
Lanthanides, Transition metal compounds
Actinides; Master index

Synthetic methods of organometallic and inorganic chemistry. Ed. W.A. Hermann. Thieme, 1995-1997. 8 vols.
Main Collection 547.051 H568s
Includes experimental procedures for the synthesis of organometallic and inorganic compounds commonly used in laboratories; properties such as solubility, IR and NMR spectra, melting point/boiling point; and selected references.

Comprehensive treatise on inorganic and theoretical chemistry. J.W. Mellor. Longman, 1922-37. Supplements. 1956-.
Main collection 546 M52
An extensive but now dated handbook containing physical and chemical properties of elements and their compounds.

Inorganic reactions and methods. VCH, 1984-1990
Main collection 541.39 Z94i
A comprehensive series on inorganic reactions with volumes organized by bond formation and type of reaction. Each volume has indexes by author, compound (formula) and subject (methods, reaction types etc). Volumes held are:
1-2. The formation of bonds to hydrogen
3-4. The formation of bonds to halogens
5. The formation of bonds to O, S, Se, Te, Po
7-8. The formation of bonds to N, P, As, Sb, Bi
9-12. The formation of bonds to C, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb
13. The formation of bonds to B, AL, GA, In, Tl; LI, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Fr Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Ra; Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Hg
15. Electron transfer and elctrochemical reactions;
Photochemical and other energized reactions
16. Reactions catalyzed by inorganic compounds
17. Oligomerization and polymerization; Formation of intercalation compounds

Inorganic syntheses. Wiley, 1939-.
Main collection 545.905 I5
Annual volumes give detailed procedures for the preparation of inorganic compounds. Concentrates on new and revised procedures applicable to a variety of related compounds or syntheses of individual compounds of current research interest or importance. Excludes syntheses of compounds available commerically and reasonably priced. The Collective index to volumes 1-30 has indexes by contributor, subject, formula and CAS registry number. Special volumes include:
28. Reagents for transition metal complex and organometallic syntheses. 1990.
30. Nonmolecular solids [binary compounds, ternary compounds, crystal growth, intercalation compounds, oxide semiconductors, zeolites]. 1995.

Encyclopedia of chemical reactions. Ed. C.A. Jacobson. Reinhold, 1946-59. 8 vols.
Reference collection 541 J17
A now dated handbook of inorganic reactions arranged alphabetically by reactant. Includes for each reaction a very brief description, equation and reference to the literature.

Comprehensive coordination chemistry: the synthesis, reactions, properties and applications of coordination compounds. Ed. G. Wilkinson. Pergamon Press, 1987. 7 vols.
Main collection 541.2242 W686c
Volumes are:
Theory & background
Ligands
Main group & early transition elements
Middle transition elements
Late transition elements
Applications
Subject and formula indexes and list of reviews

The Chemistry of the actinide elements. 2nd ed. Ed. J.J. Katz. Chapman and Hall, 1986. 2 vols.
A substantial handbook of the actinides. Has chapters on actinium, thorium, protactinium, uranium, neptunium, plutonium, americium, curium, berkelium, californium, einsteinium, transeinsteinium elements and their compounds and chapters with comparative surveys of the actinides including their spectra, thermodynamic properties, magnetic properties, metallic state, structural chemistry, solution chemistry, organoactinide chemistry.

Handbook on the physics and chemistry of the actinides. Ed. A.J. Freeman. North-Holland, 1984-86. 3 vols.
Main collection 546.4 H236
Contains review articles on the actinides. Volume 3 covers their chemistry.

Comprehensive supramolecular chemistry. 1996. 11 volumes.
Main collection 547.7 A887c
Molecular recognition: receptors for cationic guests.
Molecular recognition: receptors for molecular guests.
Cyclodextrins
Supramolecular reactivity and transport: bioorganic systems
Supramolecular reactivity and transport: bioinorganic systems
Solid-state supramolecular chemistry: crystal engineering
Solid-state supramolecular chemistry: two- and three-dimensional inorganic networks
Physical methods in supramolecular chemistry
Templating, self-assembly, and self-organization
Supramolecular technology
Subject index

Nomenclature of inorganic chemistry : recommendations 1990. Blackwell Scientific, IUPAC, 1990.
Main Collection 546.014 L528n

The Elements

Periodic Tables on the web have data on the elements with physical, chemical and biological properties and abundance.

The handbooks and encyclopaedias on inorganic chemistry mentioned above (e.g. Gmelin, Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry) cover the elements in detail. Works concentrating on the elements are:

The elements. 3rd ed. J. Emsley. Clarendon Press, 1998.
Reference collection 546 E55e
A substantial set of data on each element: chemical, physical, biological properties, nuclear, electron shell, crystal, geological data, abundance in sun and earth.

Encyclopedia of the chemical elements. C. Hampel. Reinhold, 1968.
Main collection 546.03 H229
A dated but detailed encyclopedia with long descriptions of each element, covering history, prevalence, physical properties, chemical properties, principal compounds, biological properties, applications.