Scientific writing guides
The following guides give advice on writing essays, articles and other materials and citing publications in your bibliographies. You should also find out your Department's recommended citation style, since different University Departments have different requirements.
For other titles, try- 808.0665 and 808.0666 in the Main collection and Reference
collection.
- the Library catalogue under the subject heading: Technical writing.
- Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers. Style
Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors. 6th ed. Cambridge University Press, 1994.
- Reference collection 808.0665
- A useful style guide for the biological, physical and mathematical sciences. Includes general style conventions as well as a comprehensive section on nomenclature, symbols and other conventions in special areas (e.g. genes, viruses, the earth).
- See also its online chapter on citing Internet sources.
- How to write & publish a scientific paper. Robert A. Day. 4th ed. Oryx Press, 1994.
- Main Collection 808.0665 D274h.4
- Describes the writing of scientific papers, reviews, conference reports, book reviews, theses, oral
presentations, posters; lists of common abbreviations, spelling erors and expressions to be avoided.
- The Oxford dictionary for scientific writers and editors. Clarendon Press, 1991
- Main Collection 808.0665 O98
- A dictionary of recommended usage for common scientific terms and symbols.
- Style manual for authors, editors and printers. 6th ed. Wiley, 2002.
- Reference collection 808.027 A938.6
- A guide designed mainly for editors and printers with detailed description of the author-date (Harvard) citation style.
- Scientist's guide to poster presentations. P.J. Gosling.
Kluwer Academic/Plenum Pub., c1999.
- Main Collection 808.0665 G676s
For other titles, try
- 808.042 and 808.02 in both the Main collection and Reference collection.
- the Library catalogue under the subject heading: Report writing.
- the works listed above under Writing for publication, some of which also cover
the writing of unpublished essays, theses and laboratory reports
- A manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations / Kate L. Turabian. 6th ed.
University of Chicago Press, 1996.
- Reference collection and Main collection 808.025 T929m.6
- A classic handbook for details of style (e.g. referencing) with many examples based on the Chicago Manual style. Does not cover principles and processes of planning and writing.
- Form and style: research papers, reports, theses. Carole Slade. 11th ed. Houghton Mifflin Co., 2000.
- Reference collection 808.02 S631f
- A guide, with many examples, to the writing processes and format of papers and theses. Includes
referencing in the Chicago Manual, MLA and APA styles for different publication types.
- Assignment and thesis writing. Jonathan Anderson. 4th ed. John Wiley & Sons, 2001.
- Reference collection and Main collection 808.06 A547a.4
- Covers planning and writing theses and assignments including computer tools, format, style,
referencing in Harvard and APA reference styles for various publication types.
- Successful lab reports: a manual for science students. Christopher S. Lobban and Maria
Schefter. Cambridge University Press, 1992.
- Main Collection 808.0665 L796s
- A basic guide to arrangement and content of student laboratory reports.
- A short guide to writing about biology. 3rd ed. Jan A. Pechenik. Longman, 1997.
- Main collection 808.0665 P365s.3
- Covers the preparation and writing of laboratory reports, essays, research proposals, oral
presentations, application letters as well as reading and note taking and sources.
- Postgraduate study in the biological sciences: a researcher's companion. 1993.
- Main Collection 574.072 B573p
- Successful scientific writing: a step-by-step guide for biomedical scientists. Janice R. Matthews. Cambridge University Press, 2000.
- Main Collection 808.06661 M439s.2
- Essentials of writing biomedical research papers. 2nd ed. Mimi Zeiger. McGraw-Hill, 2000.
- Main Collection 808.06657 Z46e.2
- American Medical Association manual of style. 8th ed. Cheryl
Iverson. Williams & Wilkins, 1989
- Reference collection 808.06661 A512
- The ACS style guide: a manual for authors and editors. Ed. Janet S. Dodd. 2nd ed. American Chemical Society, 1997.
- Reference collection 808.06654 D639a.2
- The chemist's English. Robert Schoenfeld. Weinheim: VCH Verlagsgesellschaft, 1985
- Main Collection 808.06654 S365c
- Suggestions to Authors of the Reports of the United States Geological Survey
- Online; also 7th ed, 1991 at Reference collection 808.06655 U58s.7
- Includes instructions for US Geological Survey report writers on form and content of reports as well as sections on stratigraphic nomenclature, geographic names, terminology (chemical, mineralogic, petrologic, paleontologic), abbreviations and symbols, preparing maps and illustrations.
- Guide to authors: a guide for the preparation of geological maps and reports. Energy, Mines and Resources Canada, 1979
- Reference collection 808.06655 C21mi
- Geoscience reporting guidelines. Brian Grant. 2003
- Reference collection 808.06655 G761g
- Geowriting: a guide to writing, editing, and printing in earth science. Wendell Cochran.
4th ed. American Geological Institute, 1984
- Reference collection 808.06655 C663g.4
|