University Library The University of Adelaide Australia
You are here: Library Home

Text Zoom: S | M | L

Printer Friendly Version Print View

Feminist anthropology :
a guide to library resources

Contents:
Starting points |Finding books |Finding journal articles |Web resources |

A related library guides which may be helpful :
Gender Studies


STARTING POINTS

When you need to define your topic and/or get some background reading try consulting an encyclopedia on feminism.

In addition, the print publication Women anthropologists: a biographical dictionary provides biographies, bibliographies of selected works and a listing of critical studies.

The guide to Anthropology dictionaries/encyclopedias will help if you need general explanations of anthropological terminology or theory.

To find overviews on the subject try the following:

Anthropological studies of women's status revisited (1998) [electronic] 
[A critical survey of the literature published in vol.17 (1988) of the Annual review of Anthropology. Also available in print format]



Cross-cultural study of women : a comprehensive guide (1986) [print]
[A collection of resources on gender inequality around the world and in the classroom]

Ethnographic feminisms : essays in anthropology (1995) [print] 
[A collection of essays on ethnographically-based feminism]
 
Feminism and anthropology (1988) [print]
[Documents the feminist contribution to social anthropology]

Feminist anthropology: a reader (2006) [print] 
[An anthology of both classic and contemporary articles, grouped to highlight key themes from the past and present]

Feminist anthropology: past present and future (2006)  [print]
[An anthology of articles addressing critical issues in the study of gender, sex, and sexuality]

Gender and anthropology (2000) [print]
[Traces how anthropologists have used different theoretical orientations to examine gender and how these approaches have changed over time in relation to changing social and political conditions]

Histories of feminist ethnography (1997) [electronic]
[A review essay which illustrates how changes in the conception of gender define the historical production of feminist ethnography. Published in vol.26 (1997) of the Annual review of Anthropology. Also available in print format]

Subject of anthropology: gender, symbolism and psychoanalysis (2007) [print]
[Henrietta Moore is a leader theorist of gender in Social Anthropology, and this book assesses the contribution of anthropology to the theory of gender]

FINDING BOOKS USING THE LIBRARY CATALOGUE

Books can be found by searching the library catalogue. Keyword searching is probably the best way of identifying material, and your results will be maximised by using keyword searching techniques such as truncation and Boolean searching, and by incorporating subject headings into your search where appropriate. Here are some examples on how to construct searches:

"feminist anthropology"
"women anthropologists"
margaret and mead and samoa?

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES USING DATABASES

Journal articles can be found through databases listed in the Electronic Databases for Anthropology guide - Sociological Abstracts and Anthropology Plus are probably the best starting points for finding articles written on feminist anthropology.
Another more specialised database to consider is Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts


WEB RESOURCES

Association for Feminist Anthropology
[An association which fosters development of feminist analytic perspectives in anthropology]

Feminist Anthropology
[Offers an overview of the history and theory of feminist anthropology and includes a substantial bibliography of relevant sources]

Last update: 4 December 2007  

This page is maintained by Helen Attar